Skip to main content

Development Practice: Books

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

Development Studies Titles

Use LibX Tool Bar

Consider installing LibX Tool bar to your internet browser. This will allow you to quickly connect resources you locate to Emory holdings.

For more information click here.

Finding Books at Emory: discoverE

DiscoverE is Emory's main search tool to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries (i.e. Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Oxford Library, the Science Commons, the Library Service Center, and Rose Library).  

Under the "Libraries" tab in on the library homepage, click on discoverE to do a simple search: 

  1. Type in your keywords.
  2. When you get some results, use "Refine My Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date, library, and more.

TOO MANY RESULTS?

  • Use the "Advanced Search" option to limit your item search by type (e.g. book, video, database) and to add additional author, title, and subject keywords.  You can also restrict your search by language.
  • Once you find a relevant book, click on the entry in discoverE.  Look to see how the book is classified by subject.  When you click on the subject link, you will see other items categorized under that subject heading.  Who wrote this book?  Click on the author's name to see more materials by the same writer.   

TOO FEW RESULTS?

  • Remove some terms from your search
  • Add synonyms using OR [in upper case] with parentheses--for example: refugees AND (women OR woman OR female) will return results on women refugees, woman refugees, and female refugees. 

OFF TOPIC RESULTS?

Tip: Consult the discoverE help page for further information.

Additional Sources of Information on Books

WorldCat

A comprehensive catalog of items held by a wide-range of libraries including research and public institutions, searchable by author, title and subject. WorldCat covers other formats beyond books but does not index journal articles.

British Library for Development Studies (BLDS)

One of the world's largest libraries specializing in development studies. 

JOLIS: Joint World Bank & IMF Libraries Online Catalog

Searches the catalogs of the World Bank Library and the IMF Library, which have maintained a Joint Library since 1947. 

 

Interlibrary Loan

Contact InterLibrary Loan to borrow books from other universities or institutions. If books are available at local academic institutions (i.e. University of Georgia, Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia State University) you may also be able to borrow with your Emory ID card.

 

Tips: discoverE, EUCLID, and WorldCat check out Search Strategies Guide.

Reports and "Grey Literature"

Reports, working papers, etc. are often quite important in development studies. Although these resources are often not formally published, the library treats these materials in the Emory collection like books and you can locate them via discoverE or EUCLID. Often, these materials are also available for free on the Internet in organization or general development websites. Emory users also have access to:    

World Bank eLibrary (Emory only)

The World Bank eLibrary is a collection of the World Bank’s numerous publications, reports, working papers and other related documents. All texts are searchable by both topic and region, and available in full-text. Currently, over 4,500 documents are indexed in the database. The World Bank’s areas of focus include economic and social development, education, environmental issues, health, and finance. Records for World Bank publications are put in discoverE and EUCLID but fuller indexing is found in the eLibrary.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322