Skip to main content

Development Practice: Articles

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL: http://scholar.google.com.

Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource BUT it does not always connect to Emory sources. A book or journal article may be in the library. Never purchase an item without checking. Remember you can also borrow items from other libraries for free.

TIPS for using Google Scholar

Press Display

PressDisplay provides online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 1,700 U.S. and international titles —from 94 countries in 48 languages.

More info on finding news sources. Also check out the Africa and Latin America tabs.

What is a Scholarly Journal?

Many professors require students to use scholarly journal articles as resources when writing research papers.

  • Scholarly journals review submitted articles before they are published.
  • Articles are written by scholars for scholars.
  • A scholarly journal article typically has information about authors, an abstract of the article, footnotes/bibliography and perhaps extensive statistics or charts.
  • Authors often provide at least a brief review of the literature on the subject.

Many databases allow you to restrict your searches to scholarly journals, sometimes called "refereed" journals.


Peabody Library of Vanderbilt University has produced a helpful video explaining how to identify a scholarly journal article.

Searching For Articles In discoverE

To search other databases go to Databases @ Emory and use the drop-down menu to choose a subject. Current subjects include business, public health, social sciences and women's studies.

You can also create your own list of databases to search: 

  1. Enter your search terms.
  2. Use discoverE's 'Refine My Results' feature (in the left column) to limit your search by topic, author, date.
  3. Click on the "Full Text Available' link if there is one. You should also click on the 'No Full Text' links; some of them will lead to a full-text online copy.
  4. If it's NOT available online, follow these directions.

Articles

Below are some of the most important databases to locate articles relevant for development studies. You can find many other databases by subject, title, or type at Databases@emory.

AGRICOLA, 1970-present

A bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.

Anthropology Plus, dates vary (Emory only) 

The major database in the field of Anthropology. It indexes over 1000 anthropology journals as well as reports, edited monographs, and obituaries in the four fields (social/cultural, physical/biological, linguistic, archaeology) of anthropology and other related disciplines. 

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online,1991-present (Emory only)

Publishes a wide range of scholarship, dating from 1991 forward, on foreign policy/international relations.  Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Contemporary Women's Issues, 1992-date (Emory only)

Covers global information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Information on women is available in the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.

ECONLIT, 1969-date (Emory only)

The most important index in the field of Economics. It is a worldwide, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts on economics from major journals, books, dissertations, and collective volumes.

EMBASE, 1980-date (Emory only)

Indexes international biomedical journals covering public health, toxicology, pharmacology, drug research, health policy and management, psychiatry, psychology, biomedical engineering, alternative medicine, and environmental health.

Environment Complete, 1950s-date (Emory only)

Offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Database (Emory Only)

A multidisciplinary database for the environmental sciences. Includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

ERIC, 1966-date  (Emory only version

The premier index for education literature and consists of two files: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). RIE includes ERIC documents, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.

Global Health (CABI), 1973-date (Emory only)

Provides international coverage of communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS), tropical and parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, and medicinal and poisonous plants.

Political Science Complete (Emory only)

Contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). This is the major index for political science.

PubMed, 1950's-date

The most important database in the field, is a service of the National Library of Medicine and  includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)1915-date (Emory only)

Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences (primarily economics, anthropology, sociology, public health, and political science), going back to 1915. To acquire results prior to 1960, be sure to change the first part of your date range to "earliest."

Development Studies Journals

Development studies journals are covered in the indexes above but additional titles of interest are found below:

MD: Monthly Developments Magzine

A journal devoted to the practical issues of working in development. Published by Interaction, the largest alliance of U.S. based humanitarian and international development agencies.

Mother Pelican: PelicanWeb's Journal of Sustainable Development

A free, open access journal that "provides a monthly digest on current research pursuant to enhancing human solidarity, environmental sustainability, democratic governance, supporting technologies, and both secular and religious non-violence." Vol. 6, no.10 is a report on the United Nations Millennial Goals Summit held in September 2010 and a sustainable development simulation. January 2010 issue contained a list of Basic Reference and Data sources for Sustainable Development

 

Lists of Major Journals in Development Studies

The following lists give rankings of various journals in development studies based on numbers of times they have been cited. Most of the listed  journals are available electronically at Emory & the electronic version can be searched.

Development Studies Journal Ranking Table: 2010 List compiled by development information specialists at the University of Manchester. Covers general development journals but also includes information technology titles.

SCOPUS Journal Ranking: Development: 2010

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Choose "Social Science" then "Planning/Development";  sort by "Total citations" or "Impact Factor"


Of Interest:

IDS Bulletin, a major journal in the field, has produced virtual readers of its past articles on important topics, preceded by excellent reviews of the issues.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322