Skip to main content

Development Practice: General Resources

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

Full Text Sources

CLACSO- Latin America and Caribbean Social Science Virtual Library
Database containing more than 7000 full-text social science publications in Spanish and Portuguese from the Consejo de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe (CLACSO). You can search in the full-text and/or in subject (only in Spanish), author, title.

 

Red ALyC

Red ALyC (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe) is a portal to the full text of over 100 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Titles are arranged by topic, including: agriculture, anthropology, art, communication, culture, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, information science, information science, institutional journals, international relations, language and literature, law, multidisciplinary titles, philosophy and science, politics, psychology, public administration, and territorial studies. IIncludes a searchable database for all journals.

SciELO

SciELO is a cooperative development that is developing full-text libraries of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean. Each library is developed separately by country or theme. While most of the SciElo libraries focus on science journals, they also include journals with a social science theme.

Virtual  Health Library

VHL is a cooperative development that is developing full-text libraries materials related to health from a number of Latin American and other nations.e.

General Resources

Two important general website dealing with Latin America are

 

La Guia: Internet Resources for Latin America (New Mexico State, Molly Molloy)

Latin American Information Network Center  (LANIC) (University of Texas at Austin)
A huge, well-organized site covering Latin America. You can search by country or topic. There is a special section on Development.

 

Most of the general development studies websites (including the major general websites) have a section on Latin America with very helpful information. See for example ELDIS' Latin America and Caribbean and Global Development Network's Regional Window: Latin America

 

For more general information about researching Latin America & Caribbean Regions at Emory see Latin American & Caribbean Studies Research Guide 

Emory's Latin American Studies Librarian is Phil MacLeod, pmacleo@emory.edu or 404-727-0150.

 

Specialized Organizations dealing with Latin America & the Caribbean

 

Lists/Directories:

Directory of International Organizations'  Latin America Part 1   Latin America Part 2  provides numerous links to organizations specializing in African development. 

 

NGO Research Guide: Latin American NGO's (Duke)

 
 

Remember all the major development agencies (World Bank, etc.) produce reports on Latin America & the Caribbean as well as on individual Latin American & Caribbean countries. Check Official, IGO, NGO tab.

 

Selected Individual Agencies:

 Organization of American States founded in 1947 the OAS "uses a four-pronged approach to effectively implement its essential purposes, based on its pillars: democracy, human rights, security, and development."  

 

 

Inter-American Development Bank A multinational development bank supported by 48 nations (member countries) from North and South America, Europe and Asia, headquartered in Washington.

 

 

United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America & Caribbean produces the Economic Survey of Latin American & the Caribbean 


© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322