Skip to main content

Development Practice: News Resources

Information resources to support Masters in Development Practice and other Emory development studies programs

News Sources

 

General Latin American & Caribbean News Sources:

The following titles review Latin American developments in an on-going basis:  

 

Latin American Weekly Report. Weekly. 1984- .  F1401 .L292. Latest year in Current Periodicals Reading Room.

Latin American Regional Reports: Andean Group. Monthly.  1984- . HC161 L255. Latest year in Current Periodicals Reading Room.

Latin American Regional Report. Brazil & Southern Cone Report. Monthly  2003- HC186 .L375. Latest year in Current Periodicals Reading

Latin American Regional Reports: Caribbean & Central American Report. Monthly. 1994- . HC151 .A1 L37. Latest year in Current Periodicals Reading Room.

Latin American Regional Reports: Mexico & NAFTA Report. Monthly.  1993- . HC131 .L37. Latest year in Current Periodicals Reading Room.

Important Digital Continent and Country News Sources: 

TIP: When you search a digital news resource remember to adjust to the dates you need. Most news databases default to the latest week/month only.

 

BBC World News connects to the British Broadcasting's overseas news coverage which also has tabs for TV and radio. A separate Latin America news page is available.

Factiva (Emory only) lets you quickly search nearly 8,000 publications from around the world (including Latin America) in 22 languages. It includes the world's most prestigious publications and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires. You can select "Source Category" and 'Publication by Region."

LANIC Newspapers Webpage containing direct links to the major daily newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean

Latin American Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive  (Emory only) " provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922."

Latin American Newsstand (Emory only) Latin American Newsstand is a full-text database of over 35 leading newspaper titles from Latin America (including Brazil and Puerto Rico). Also included are regional magazines and wire services. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly so that the database is cross-searchable. Citations are available for articles in all the source publications. Abstracts allow researchers to save time by allowing them to identify the complete articles they need. Full-text articles are also instantly accessible for all of the titles.

Lexis/Nexis Academic (Emory only) is a major source for newspapers throughout the world, including Latin America. You can limit your search by source.

New York Times, Americas, International News contains breaking news and opinion. Note "Times Topics: Find News by County" search box in upper right of page.

Newsbank Access World News (Emory only)covers news sources from Latin America Africa. Select "The World" and then "North America" for (Mexico, the Caribbean and Central America Sources) or "South America" to limit to regional sources.

Television News Archive (Emory only) collection at Vanderbilt University holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.  

The Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) (Emory only)is the digital archive of the Times (London), an important paper with significant coverage of Latin American affairs. The database is searchable full text, including advertisements and photographs, back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More recent years of the Times (London) are searchable on Lexis-Nexis.

World News Connection (Emory only)is a foreign news service from the U.S. Government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions, including Latin America. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events . Goes back to 1994.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322