Skip to main content
Banner Image

Southern Studies: Home

About MARBL

Visit MARBL's website

Emory University's Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (MARBL) holds over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Its renowned collections span more than 800 years of human history—with a special focus on modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South. Everyone is welcome to use MARBL collections: students, scholars, visiting researchers, and the general public.

Other options

Can't find what you need at MARBL? Here are some other options to try:

Pitts Theology Library Archives and Manuscripts Department
The Archives and Manuscripts Department of Pitts Theology Library houses collections relating to Methodism in the South, the history of Christianity in South Africa, British religious history, and hymnody.

WorldCat
A worldwide union catalog maintained collectively by over 9,000 member institutions. WorldCat contains citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, and videotapes.

discoverE

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

Introduction to the Collections

Uncle Remus cover

The following list of materials was selected from among MARBL’s manuscript and rare book collections related to the history and culture of the American South. Additional materials related to this topic may be located by searching  EUCLID or by contacting the MARBL reference staff. The manuscripts are divided into topical subjects within the Subject Index. Please note that collections listed in one section may contain items relevant to other section headings. None of these lists is exhaustive; to supplement this guide researchers should also consult related research guides. Additionally, you may wish to search our catalogs to locate additional materials:

Find Manuscripts and Archives
This database searches detailed descriptions of manuscript collections, which are called finding aids. Finding aids generally include a description of the collection's creator and contents and a box and folder list. The database includes finding aids for unprocessed collections.

Find Books and More
The Emory Libraries Catalog contains records for the majority of materials held in MARBL and the other university libraries, including rare books, manuscript collections and archives, microforms, and audiovisual materials.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact MARBL to insure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.

Research Guide

Rose Library Research Services
Contact:
10th floor, Woodruff Library
404-727-6887
Website / Blog Page

Planning your Research Visit to MARBL

 Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in MARBL. Some collections are located in an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. To ensure your timely accessibility to our collections on and off-site, we appreciate advance notice of the collections you intend to view.

We are happy to assist you as you prepare for your research visit. If you have any questions about our collections, questions regarding MARBL's researcher policies, and/or would like to request materials to be on hold for your research visit, please email marbl@emory.edu to the attention of Research Services.

Ask a Question

E-mail: marbl@emory.edu

Phone: 404-727-6887

In Person: Woodruff Lib., 10th floor
Directions

MARBL is open:
Monday-Saturday 9:00-5:30
Holidays & Closings

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322