Skip to main content

Ethnomusicology, World Music, and Folk Music Guide: Articles

Area Studies & Cultural Groups

Emory has guides for African-American Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Jewish Studies, and many more fields.  Use these to identify article databases pertinent to your interdisciplinary topic.  Contact me if you need help.

Joyce Clinkscales
E-mail: libjm01@emory.edu

Phone:  404-727-1066

Key Music Journals at Emory

A selective list of journals available at Emory and generally useful for academic papers.

  • AAWM Journal (free online)
  • Acta Musicologica
  • Asian Music
  • Asian Musicology
  • Black Music Research Journal
  • British Journal of Ethnomusicology
  • Ethnomusicology (formerly Ethno-Musicology)
  • Ethnomusicology Forum
  • Ethnomusicology Online
  • Folk Music Journal (back issues)
  • Journal of Musicological Research
  • Journal of Musicology
  • Journal of the American Musicological Society
  • Journal of the English Folk Dance and Song Society (back issues)
  • Journal of the Royal Musical Association
  • Music Review
  • Musicology in China (Zhongguo Yin Yue Xue)
  • Pacific Review of Ethnomusicology
  • People's Music (Ren Min Yin Yue)
  • Popular Music
  • Popular Music and Society
  • Study of Music (Yin Yue Yan Jiu)
  • World of Music
  • Yearbook for Traditional Music

Specialized Databases

Use these databases for in-depth coverage of particular fields.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, RILM Abstracts covers all literature about music, not just journal articles. Entries include abstracts in English. Coverage begins with 1967. Truncation symbol: *. Wildcard: ? for one character, * for multiple characters.

Music Index Online
Indexes articles in more than 700 music periodicals and selectively indexes journals in related fields. Coverage begins with 1979.  Caution: omit punctuation other than quotation marks (for phrases).  Truncation symbol: $.  Wildcard for any number of characters: $.

International Index to Music Periodicals
Try this for popular music.  Indexes articles in more than 430 music journals from about 20 countries; selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for selected titles indexed in their entirety.  Abstracts are provided for articles published after 1995.   To limit results to articles in English and/or exclude reviews, use the Advanced Search.  Truncation symbol: *.  Wildcard: ? (Use to replace any single character.  May be repeated.)

Anthropology Plus
The primary database for Anthropology, indexing over 1000 journals plus additional literature, but does not provide comprehensive coverage of the field.  No abstracts.  For more information on anthropology databases, see the Anthropology Research Guide.

SOCIndex with Full Text
Indexes and abstracts over 2500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in sociology and related field.  Provides deep historical coverage of major journals.  Includes full text for some articles.

Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of U.S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses.  Includes indexes for both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) content.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
A large multidisciplinary database offering full text of over 5000 periodicals.  Also indexes and abstracts other types of publications.  Coverage dates vary, with some content going as far back as 1865.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines.  Try the "Advanced Scholar Search" to focus your search.  Be aware that the links to Emory content sometimes yield false negatives.  Always search EUCLID before you conclude that Emory doesn't own the cited source.

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project)
A multidisciplinary collection of journals in digitized form.  Not current—for any journal, coverage begins with vol. 1 but lacks the most recent 2-5 years, by agreement with the publisher.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text access to news (1980- ), business, medical, educational, and legal sources.  A key source for newspaper articles.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322