Skip to main content

How do I find US newspapers?: Recent (1980s forward)

About This Page

The sources on this page provide access to newspaper content from the relatively recent past (approximately 1980 and later.)

There is some overlap with the sources in both Current Newspapers and Historical Newspapers. Coverage within these sources varies from one or two years to 20 or 30 years.

For availability of a particular title:

Recent Newspapers Databases

Lexis-Nexis Academic

Online access to thousands of news, business and legal sources, including domestic and foreign newspapers, TV and radio news transcripts.

Factiva

Online access to thousands of news and business sources, including domestic and foreign newspapers, Reuters and Dow Jones newswires.  Only place to access recent years of the Wall Street Journal online.

Access World News

Access World News coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers. All titles are the full electronic version of record. CLICK ON THE LINK "THE WORLD" TO SEE NEWS SOURCES FROM AROUND THE WORLD.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Full text U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. Search tip: Hit the "Select Multiple Databases" link to select both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) versions of this database.

Press Display

Library Press Display provides instant online access to recent newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. 

Web Archives

Many Woodruff Library researchers are often interested in getting newspaper articles via the Internet. The library subscribes to a large number of these newspapers, which you may access by clicking on the links above.

Some papers also offer access to online archives of their articles via their websites, but they often charge a fee and rarely have articles older than the late 1980s or early 1990s. A quick way to find out if a newspaper has an archive, how far back it goes, and whether they charge for using it is to check the US News Archives on the Web site.

Contact Information

Erica Bruchko
Contact:
Emory University

Robert W. Woodruff Library

540 Asbury Circle

Atlanta, GA 30322



Phone: 404-727-0657

E-mail: Berica@emory.edu
Social:Twitter Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322