Skip to main content

How do I find American newspapers?: Historical

About This Page

The sources on this page provide access to historical (primarily before 1980) U.S. and international newspapers available at Woodruff Library or online.  Available papers range from the 17th to the 20th century. There is some overlap with sources listed under Recent Newspapers.

Locating specific newspaper titles

For availability of a particular title:

Historic Newspapers

Proquest Historical (1851-2007)

Past coverage of major American newspaper and historically African American newspapers (see panel to the right). 

Newspapers.com (1700s-2000s)

Database of local and regional historical newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and Ireland, Australia and other select countries. Warning! Individual newspaper titles in newspapers.com are not indexed in discoverE or findable in e-journals.

NewspaperArchive.com (1600s-1900s)

Database of local historical newspapers from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom. Warning! Individual newspaper titles in NewspaperArchive are not indexed in discoverE or findable in e-journals. 

America's Historical Newspapers (AHN)  (1690-1922) - includes:

Hundreds of early American newspapers and ethnic newspaper collections which can be searched alone or simultaneously with other newspapers:

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1971)

Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)

America's Historical Newspapers also has several other 20th-century, southern newspapers:

Augusta Chronicle (1923-1996)

New Orleans Times Picayune (1837-1978)

The State (South Carolina), (1891-1997)

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (1800s)

African American Newspapers/ Accessible Archives (1800s)

Chronicling America - National Digital Newspaper Program (1789-1924)

Free Web access with more content added frequently, plus a searchable directory of U.S. papers published from 1690 to present. Learn More 

Digitial Library of Georgia (coverage dates vary)

Free Web access to a growing collection of historical Georgia newspapers, including: papers from Atlanta, Macon, Milledgeville, and Columbus; the Cherokee Phoenix; the Southern Israelite; and more.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-present)

U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish.   

 

Quick Links

Colonial America

America's Historical Newspapers

Nineteenth Century America

Chronicling America

Proquest Historical Newspapers

Nineteenth Century Newspapers

Twentieth Century America

Proquest Historical Newspapers

Newspapers.com

NewspaperArchive

African American Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers (for an alternative interface that only includes African American newspapers try Black Studies Center)

African American Newspapers (Readex)

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322