Skip to main content

Data Resources: Economic Development (ECON 362): Economic Data

Economic, political, and social indicators of development

Economic Data

AidData
http://aiddata.org/
AidData is a portal for an extensive database of development assistance. Users can query the data by combinations of aid recipient, aid donor (individual countries and multilateral organizations), year, and aid purpose. The AidData project has a separate site devoted to Chinese development finance.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) Balance of Payments Statistics
http://data.imf.org/
The Balance of Payments Statistics, which is part of the IMF's eLibrary of databases, contains detailed data on countries' international economic transactions in their current accounts, capital accounts, and financial accounts. Topics covered include trade in goods and services, foreign direct investment, portfolio investment, and holdings of reserve assets. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory and on CD-ROM in the Data Center.

International Monetary Fund (IMF) International Financial Statistics
http://data.imf.org/
The International Financial Statistics, which is part of the IMF's eLibrary of databases, is a standard source for macroeconomic data, with a focus on monetary and financial topics, both international and domestic. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory and via CD-ROM in the Data Center.

United Nations Commodity Statistics Trade Database (Comtrade)
http://comtrade.un.org/
The UN's Comtrade database is a good source for commodity-specific bilateral trade data. Users can create their own extracts of data for both value and quantity of trade using different industrial classification codes and download those extracts for later use. Comtrade now also includes data on trade in services. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322