Skip to main content

Data Resources: Economic Development (ECON 362): Political Data

Economic, political, and social indicators of development

Political Data

Climate Change and African Political Stability (CCAPS)
http://www.strausscenter.org/ccaps/
The CCAPS project, which is hosted by the Strauss Center for International Security and Law at UT-Austin, is devoted to the study of the relationship between climate change and international/internal stability on the African continent. The project has produced various data collections such as the Social Conflict Analysis Database (SCAD), which provides event-level data on riots, coups, strikes, and other instances of social unrest, and the Armed Conflict Location and Event Dataset (ACLED), which provides event-level data on various types of armed conflict.

Quality of Government (QOG) Institute
http://www.qog.pol.gu.se/
The QOG Institute is hosted by members of the Department of Political Science at Göteborg University in Sweden and is devoted to "the causes, consequences and nature of 'good governance.'" The Institute has created four collections of data on governance: a broad collection of governance indicators that is global in coverage; a more narrow collection that focuses on social policy in wealthier countries; data from expert surveys on politicization and professionalization of public administration in individual countries, and a new data collection on perceptions of corruption in individual regions within EU members. The data are compiled from multiple sources, including the Polity Project, the Cingarelli-Richards Human Rights Data, Transparency International, Freedom House, various international organizations, and datasets produced by various academics. The QoG data are available in SPSS, Stata, and comma-delimited (.csv) formats.

World Bank Governance Data
http://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/governance
The World Bank hosts a website devoted to research on governance and institutional quality and their relevance for economic development and performance. As part of its efforts in this area, the Bank collects and distributes data on a variety of aspects of governance and institutional quality. Of particular interest may be the Worldwide Governance Indicators, which score countries in areas such as control of corruption and regulatory quality, and the firm-level surveys such as the Enterprise Surveys. The Bank's Actionable Governance Indicators Portal also brings together hundreds of governance-related indicators from multiple data sources and makes them available via tools for downloading and visualization.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322