Skip to main content

Collection Management@Emory: Gifts in kind

Websites for Price and Sales Information

Abebooks Web address: http://www.abebooks.com/ “Abebooks, the world’s largest online marketplace for books, lists over 80 million new, used, rare, and out-of-print books from more than 13,500 booksellers.”- Website, “Company Information.”  Bookfinder.com Web address: http://www.bookfinder.com “BookFinder.com is the open marketplace for books online—a one-stop ecommerce search engine where you can search through over 100 million new, used, rare, and out of print books for sale” – Website.  International League of Antiquarian Booksellers Web address: http://www.ilab-lila.com/ This league “federates 20 National Associations of Antiquarian Booksellers.  It speaks for 20 national associations, 30 countries, and 2000 leading booksellers throughout the world.”- Website. 

Emory Policies: Acceptance and Valuation

  a. Acceptance.  

The Emory Libraries welcome gifts in kind from Emory students, faculty and staff and from the community.    Gifts are subject to review in terms of their size, their relevance and scope—the library typically does not accept donations that are out of scope for our collections.   Please contact a subject liaison for further assessment or evaluation, if need be. Donors are asked, if possible, to provide as much bibliographic information for their donations, so as to expedite review and processing.  Nearly half of the material donated to the Woodruff Library is added to our collection.   Note that we can not accept realia, e.g., nonprinted material or visual material (e.g., objects, posters, etc). 

The acceptance of a gift does not constitute adding an item to the collection; Emory reserves the right to make all collection decisions, in accordance with IRS regulations.    Emory also reserves the right to dispose of materials not added to the collection as it see fit (e.g., other vendors, booksellers, nonprofit groups).

 

b. Valuation of Gifts 

 

Emory Libraries staff may not establish the fair market value of a gift nor provide nor appraise gifts or potential gifts to the collection.  The Internal Revenue Code, Section 2512(c), “Valuation of Gifts” (1986) precludes the recipient of a gift from evaluating it.  It is the sole responsibility of the donor to determine the value of a contributed item.  The following list represents a selection of Atlanta area book appraisers, standard printed sources for book valuation, and websites that are heavily used in the book trade.  This list is intended as an aid for donors and potential donors in determining the fair market value of their collections. 

Any donation believed by the donor to have a value over $500, requires the completion of Emory University’s Gift in Kind Form (see under Forms).  

 

Questions can be addressed as well to the Head of Collection Management at Woodruff Library, Chris Palazzolo.

Atlanta Area Appraisers

Cliff Graubart Old New York Bookshop 660 Spindlewick Dr. Atlanta, GA  30350  Tel: (770) 393-2997 Email: : cgraubart@mindspring.com

Antonio Raimo Galleries, Ltd. 700 Miami Circle, N.E., Ste. 350 Atlanta, GA 30324  Tel: (404) 841-9880, (888) 841-9880 Fax: (404) 841-9230 Email: araimo@mindspring.com

Yesteryear Book Shop P.O. Box 550065 Atlanta, GA 30355-2565  Tel: (770) 436-7432 Email: yesteryearbooks@bellsouth.net

Sources of Price and Sales Informatoin

American Book Prices Current. Washington, Conn.: American Book Prices Current, 1894/95-date. Emory Libraries holdings:  vol. 1-  , 1895-date.  Z1000 .A51 2002  An annual listing of books, serials, autographs, manuscripts, broadsides, and maps which sold for more than $50 at auction compiled from the sales records of approximately fifty major book auction houses in the United States, Western Europe, and Australia. Each entry includes full bibliographic information, a detailed physical description of the item including size, binding (when relevant) and condition, and sales information (auction house, date of sale, and actual sale price). Publications covering all disciplines and in all languages are included, though coverage is strongest for English-language material.

Bookman’s Price Index: A Guide to the Values of Rare and Other Out-of-Print Books.  Detroit: Gale Research, 1964-date. Emory Libraries holdings: vol. 1- , 1964-date.  REF Z1000.5  .B6 

Bookman’s Price Index is a semi-annual record of books listed in current retail sales catalogs issued by approximately two hundred general and specialist antiquarian booksellers in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Each volume includes bibliographic, condition, and sales (dealer, price) information for approximately thirty to thirty-five thousand books, covering all disciplines.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322