Skip to main content

Collection Management@Emory: AudioVisual Materials

Collections

Visual Media

The library's film collection includes documentaries, foreign-language films, opera and other musical performances, dance, theater, and feature films. Most of the film holdings are in video formats, comprising over 17,000 DVDs and Blu-Rays, over 9000 VHS videotapes, 2300 laserdiscs, and 330 U-matic (3/4 in.) videotapes. There are about 500 16mm films. Visual media also include over 100 sets of slides and mixed-media kits.

Sound Recordings

The sound recordings collection consists of over 19,000 titles on compact disc, about 18,000 on LP phonodisc, and 300 on cassette tape. (Some LPs are not represented in discoverE.)

Music recordings include jazz, folk, popular, and world music, with the largest concentration in western art (classical) music. Among spoken-word recordings are plays, a few novels, and self-instruction materials for selected foreign languages, principally African.

Print Collections in Music

The library's print collections consist of over 23,000 scores, 30,000 books on music, and about 100 current journal subscriptions. The focus is on western art (classical) music, with growing collections in ethnomusicology, jazz, and popular music.

Significant among the scores are research-oriented editions such as collected works of individual composers, historical sets ("monumenta"), and facsimiles of music manuscripts and early editions. Scores for study or performance comprise full or miniature scores as well as sets of parts, the latter for chamber music only. Performance materials for large instrumental ensembles and choruses are held by the Department of Music.

Electronic Resources

The Emory General Libraries-Woodruff Library, Heilbrun Library, and the J. S. Guy Chemistry Library-provide the Emory community access to a wide array of electronic materials. Books and journals available in electronic form appear in the discoverE catalog with the web address, and the user can link to them from the DiscoverE screen. Literature indexes appear in DiscoverE and can also be identified through the Database Locator.

Naxos Music Library

Emory faculty, students and staff can listen to over 30,000 CDs online through the Naxos Music Library. Music from Naxos and over 100 other CD labels is available via audio streaming. Western classical music, jazz, world music, and other genres are included. CD notes are provided for titles with an “About this recording” link.

  Naxos Music Library: Stream music from Naxos and other CD labels.
  Naxos Jazz Library

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322