Skip to main content

Preservation and Conservation: Home

Preservation resources

Frequently Asked About

Caring for Personal Collections:

Finding a Conservator:

Commercial Conservation Services for the Public:
(listing here does not imply an endorsement of their services)

Preservation and Conservation

Mission: To Preserve and Protect the Emory Libraries Collections
 

The Preservation Office of the Emory University Libraries was established in September 1985 to support preservation activities in all of the Emory Libraries. The Preservation staff act as a resource for the latest conservation techniques and preservation information, maintain the disaster plan for all Emory libraries, and monitor environmental conditions and light levels to protect our collections in storage and exhibition areas in all library buildings. The Conservation Unit, established in 1987, provides care for the physical condition of all Emory University library collections, both rare and circulating.

Staff of the Preservation Office have played active roles in local and regional preservation efforts, such as teaching LYRASIS (formerly SOLINET) book repair workshops, participating in the Heritage Emergency Response Alliance and the Southeast Regional Conservation Association, and acting as consultants to our community and the public. Nationally, staff have been or are involved in the American Institute of Conservation, The Guild of Bookworkers, American Library Association (participating as committee chairs and in program and conference planning committees), the Library Binding Institute, the Association for Information and Image Management, the Research Libraries Group, and NISO. All staff are committed to acting as information resources concerning preservation issues.

 

Conservation Services to the Libraries

The prime responsibilities of the Conservation Unit are conservation of special collections materials and physical treatment of the general circulating collections of all the Emory libraries.

Conservation Unit staff provide public education, training, preventative services and a broad range of conservation services including:

  • Environmental monitoring of collections and exhibition areas (including 24/7 temperature and humidity recording, monitoring light levels, and pest management monitoring)
  • Emergency response, recovery and salvage of materials damaged from flood, fire, and other disasters
  • Staff and student assistant training in the care and handling of library materials
  • Collections condition/conservation needs assessment and preservation planning surveys
  • Special projects including preparation of materials for digitization, loan, or exhibition
  • Supporting the Emory Libraries’ Exhibition Team
  • Book repair for circulating collections including paper mending, spine replacement, pamphlet binding and rebinding
  • Full scale complex conservation treatments such as washing, mending, re-sewing, and rehousing for special collections materials
  • Constructing various custom-fit protective enclosures to house rare materials, and encapsulation of paper documents
  • Matting, mounting, and other preparation of library materials for loan or exhibition

 

 

 

Workshops

Take a workshop!

Learn about Preserving your personal collections and treasures, how to care for and handle books and library materials, and other preservation topics.

See the library workshops page for our current schedule.

Preservation Staff

Administration

 Lars Meyer
Director, Content Division
(404) 727-2437
lmeyer2@emory.edu
 

 

Book & Paper Collections Conservation

Kirsten Wehner
Conservation Coordinator
(404) 727-9042
kwehner@emory.edu

 

Julie Newton
Conservation Coordinator, Exhibitions
(404) 712-3426
jnewt01@emory.edu

 

Kyle Clark
Conservation Technician
kyle.clark@emory.edu

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322