Skip to main content

LACS 263W: Plantation America: Databases

This guide is designed to help students with their research in Professor Goddard's Fall 2017 course

Places to Start

Academic Search Complete  Database with very broad subject coverage good place to start research(1984-present for indexing and abstracts, 1990-present for full text, some publications 1960s and 1970s are included.)
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.

 REFERENCE WORKS Reference works are invaluable starting points for doing research on a particular topic.  

  • Subject-specific encyclopedias provide overviews of topics that can help you understand the basic issues. They often contain lists of recommended titles for further reading.
  • Subject dictionaries define terms that you will need to understand as you read the literature available on your topic.

 

Online reference collections

Credo Reference Unlimited

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Oxford Reference Online

History

HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS
Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage: 1955 to present.

Anthropology

Anthropology Plus  is the world's most comprehensive, focused index of bibliographic materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthroplus combines Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.

Latin America

Handbook of Latin American Studies Volumes 1 (1936) through 49 (1989)

Handbook of Latin American Studies Volume 50 (1990) onward

1936 to present

This online bibliography provides citations in the humanities and social sciences for monographs and periodical articles pertaining to Latin America and the Caribbean. The annual print volume of this title alternates between the humanities and social sciences and can be found at Z1605.H3.

HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970 to present

HAPI is the major index to periodical articles about Latin America and the Caribbean. HAPI covers all fields from popular topics to current events to history, literature, sciences and social sciences. The 500 source journals are in Spanish, English, Portuguese, French, German, and Italian. Some citations contain links to the full-text version of the article. The print version of this index can be found at AI3 .H58.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322