Key Sociology Databases
Sociology is a wide-ranging field. The following is a list of some of the major databases and indexes relevant to sociology as taught at Emory. (Note: Most of these databases are restricted to Emory users.) Many of these databases have direct links to full-text either through hyperlinks or the Find it at Emory button. Always check the eJournals page and discoverE before assuming that the library does not have an electronic version of the source. Make sure to look at the Research Guides page to find research guides for related disciplines such as education, psychology, women's studies, etc. Connect to the libraries for the School of Law, Health Sciences, Goizueta Business School, and Pitts Theology for more information on specialized resources available in those fields.
The following two databases are the most important for sociology. While there is overlap between the two, each has much unique material:
- Sociological Abstracts (1952-date)
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related fields. Covers almost 2000 journals, plus relevant dissertation listings, abstracts of conference papers, and selected books. This is a smaller, more academic database with more foreign language material than SocINDEX. A print edition of this title is available at Ref. HM 1.S6.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (1895-date)
Indexes and abstracts over 2500 journals, conference papers, and relevant books and dissertations in sociology and related fields. Includes some popular literature. Includes additional full-text for many (but not all) citations. Provides deep historical coverage for major journals, e.g. American Journal of Sociology is indexed back to 1895.
Compare journal coverage of Sociological Abstracts vs. SocIndex here.
Other important databases of interest to sociologists, especially in social psychology or education:
- PsycINFO(1807-present) Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts to over 1300 journals in over 20 languages, and to English language books and book chapters.
- ERIC from EBSCO (1966-date)
Indexes published and unpublished sources on all aspects of education and educational research. ERIC also indexes library and information science. Incorporates ERIC Digests, full-text short reports on topics of current interest in education. Endnote compatible. ED numbers are available in microfiche 411.
To identify trends in the field, sociologist often use
- Annual Review of Sociology (full text 1996-date)Full text of articles in areas of current interest in sociology. Full text of earlier years available through JSTOR. Print copies are available at HM1.A763. You can search ASR online.
NEW! Try out discoverE. Click on the articles tab and select "social sciences" from the drop down menu. This will allow you to search Sociologial Abstracts, Social Science Abstracts, Social Science Citation Index, Econlit, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts at the same time.
Use Databases@emory for a full list of available databases.
- Academic Search Complete (1984-date)
Indexes scholarly journals in the social sciences, business, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, and education as well as major daily newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, and The Christian Science Monitor. In addition to locating the text of known journals, you can search the database by subject and author.
- C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Sociology, 1895-1974. 6 vols. Z7164.S68.
Covers the older literature in the field.
- Contemporary Women's Issues (1992-present)
Covers full-text information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies. Covers women in over 190 countires. Information is available in the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
- Dissertations and Theses (formerly Dissertation Abstracts) Full text
Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. Selectively covers masters theses, Canadian dissertations, British, and other international dissertations. PDFs of most titles are available depending on author's permission. SEE Electronic Theses & Dissertations for information on submission and access to Emory dissertations, masters theses and honors papers. NOTE: Link goes to a multi-database index page. You can chose to search just Dissertations and Theses or a broader search.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1960-date)
A full-text collection of U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. Now includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, 1960-1989 which can also be searched separately..
- GPO Access (July 1976-date)
The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) provides access to legislative, executive, judicial, and regulatory documents produced by the Federal Government. More information on government information is found on the General Libraries' Government Documents web page.
- Health and PsychoSocial Instruments(1985-present)
A database of measurement instruments which includes questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, interview schedules, and a variety of other means of evaluation. Endnote compatible.
Provides indexing, abstracts and full text of scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean important to African American Studies. Covers cultural, historical, religious, social and political issues.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Indexes an international selection of journals, books, book reviews, and edited book chapters in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. EndNote compatible.
- Journal Citation Reports/JCR (2001-present)
JCR is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Coverage is both multidisciplinary and international. A list of the most cited sociology journals is found in the Social Sciences Edition. In 2005 the most cited sociology journals were American Sociological Review, American Journal of Sociology and the Journal of Marriage and Family. Microfiche 1223 is the earlier years of JCR.
Provides searchable full-text access to backfiles of key scholarly journals in many fields including sociology and related disciplines. There are no current issues in JSTOR. Includes the major scholarly journals in the field e.g., American Journal of Sociology, American Sociological Review and Social Forces. In addition to locating the text of known journals, you can search the database by subject and author.
- Left Index (1990-present)
Provides access to literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Topics covered include politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
- LGBT Life with FULL TEXT (dates vary) Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 400 magazines, journals, books, news sources and gray literature such as case studies and speeches.Also included full text for the most important GBLT journals.
- Opinion Archives provides access to current issues and backfiles of a number of leading U.S. opinion publications (from the left and right sides of the political spectrum) including the Nation (1865-present), Commentary (1945-present), the American Spectator (1967-present), the National Review (1955-present), New Republic (1914-present), Commonweal (1924-present), the New York Review of Books (1965-present), Harper’s (1850-present) and the NACLA (North American Congress on Latin America) Report (1966-present). The metasearch option provided by Opinion Archives allows one to search concurrently across issues. All issues are also available via eJournals@Emory.
- PAIS International/Public Affairs Information Service (1915-present)
Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences. PAIS Archive can also be searched separately. Both files can be searched simultaneously. Endnote compatible.
- Popline Includes articles, reports and books about population studies.
- Population Index (1986-2000)
Indexed books, journals, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
- PubMed (1950's-date) Largest health science database - fantastic for many sociology topics if they have a medical slant. Very current.
- Research Library (1986-date)
Formerly known as Periodical Abstracts. Covers publications from academic journals and popular magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.
- Sage Publications SRM Databases of Social Research Methodology CD-ROM HM48 S235
Indexes journals on social research methodology, statistical analysis, and computer applications used in the social and behavioral sciences. Abstracts only.
Provides access to full-text of Elsevier journals in science, technology and medicine, as well as selected social sciences and humanities titles. Includes Journal of Aging Studies, Journal of Criminal Studies, Race and Society.
- Social Services Abstracts (1979-present) Indexes journal articles, dissertations and book reviews in the fields of social workand community services.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)
Part of the Web of Knowledge, the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database. SSCI allows you to search not only by key words from an article's title but also by authors who have been cited in an article's bibliography. This is called citation searching. If you know a key article on your topic, this is often a very effective way to search. When you first connect to the Web of Knowledge, you can search the entire database or restrict your search to SSCI. Endnote compatible. A print version covering 1969-1993 is available at Ref. Z7161.S65.
- Social Sciences Abstracts (1994-present)
Indexes and abstracts core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. For retrospective searching (1890-1982) use Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective by clicking on the Open Database Section area on the search page.Note: The default is to search the entire database; you do have the option of searching only the social science portion on the opening screen.
- Sociological Collection(1984-date; full text 1990-present)
Contains over 475 full-text titles of interest to sociologists. Covers areas such as social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, culture and social structure. Includes some journals that are difficult to find in other electronic collections including Sex Differences, Law and Society Review, and Media Culture & Society.
- Women's Studies International (1972-present)
An index of the feminist press and an excellent resource for finding information from a feminist perspective. Includes citations drawn from an number of databases including: Women Studies Abstracts(1984 - present); Women's Studies Database(1972 - present); New Books on Women & Feminism(UWisc, 1987 - present); POPLINE Subset on Women (1964 and earlier - present); Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research(1975 - 95); Updated quarterly. Source documents range from web sites, journal articles, book chapters and conference papers