Skip to main content

Sociology Graduate Students: Statistics/Maps/GIS

Overview of sociology resources for beginning graduate students

Statistical Sources

General:

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012) GovDoc C3.134:year

Annual publication that includes a wide variety of data from U.S. federal government and other sources. Contains excellent indexing and footnotes. Use to find data and as an index to other data sources. Now published privately Statistical Abstract of the United States

Historical Statistics of the United States (Millennial Edition) covers colonial times to 2005.

 Statistical Insight (1973-present)
Online source of statistical information issued by U.S. federal & state governments, selected private publications, and major international intergovernmental organizations. While some data is included, the database also refers you to publications in print, microfiche or the web which include the actual statistics.Check EUCLID to see if library has the publications abstracted. If they are not available check the following fiche collections: micfiche 494, American Statistics Index; micfiche 486, Statistical Reference Index; and micfiche 510, Index to International Statistics.

FED STATS is a gateway to the statistics from over 100 federal agencies.

Finding Statistics (University of Michigan Documents Center)

 

Specialized resources of interest:

 

Roper iPoll  is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more. Each Emory user must register, using his/her e-mail address, to access this resource.

 

Polling Report: An Independent, Nonpartisan Resource on Trends in American Public Opinion

 

 

   School Attendance Boundary Information System (SABINS)provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files   for school attendance areas, or school catchment areas, for selected areas in the United States.

 

 

Electronic Data Center 

 

 

 

 

Statistics:

The Electronic Data Center (ECDS, 3rd Floor Woodruff Library) will assist patrons in identifying and accessing quantitative data sources that are appropriate for their work. In addition, the Center will assist patrons in getting their data into their desired formats and will provide basic assistance in using statistical packages. Please note, however, that the Center does not actually perform analyses for students or help them interpret what their results mean. Assistance in using statistics also avialable through Statistics Help Desk for grad & undergrad honors students.

For assistance with identifying, accessing, and formatting numeric data, contact Dr. Rob O'Reilly, Coordinator, Electronic Data Center (roreill@emory.edu or 404-727-6129).

The Data Center Home Page

The Data Freeway - a thematically-organized collection of links to on-line data sources

EDC maintains the following specialized list: Selected Resources for Sociologists  supplemented by specific course resources. Also check out the LibGuide, Electronic Data Center: Selected Resources for Sociologists for additional help.

 

Mapping/GIS

Mapping/GIS services and support are offered in the Electronic Data Center. Check out

 

Geography and Maps

 

A guide to resources in geography, cartography, geospatial technologies, and the use of geographic information (maps and data) in research by Michael Page.

Also check out the numerous workshops on GIS offered by Michael Page

Subject Librarian

Nidia Bañuelos's picture
Nidia BaƱuelos
Contact:
540 Asbury Circle
Atlanta, GA 30322
404-727-6953
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322