Skip to main content

Course Guide to CHN359: Women and Religion in China: Articles

This course will examine the impact that the religious traditions of China, including Confucianism, Taoism and Mahayana Buddhism, have had in shaping the social experiences, roles and images of women in twentieth-century China, Taiwan and Hong Kong.

Articles from Journals and databases

 

E-Journals

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site at the Library's website, search the journal in your mind, then you can read the journals on your computer.  Here are the e-journals that relate to your class:

 

Women and Gender in Chinese Studies Review

 

Asian Journal of Women's Studies

 

Journal of International Women's Studies

Journal of Women's Imaging

Contemporary Buddhism

Taoist Resources

Databases

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the journals atricles in the subject area of Chinese women in film and fiction, they are: 

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Women's Studies International  

Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.  It supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.  Nearly 800 soucrces include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, report, theses, dissertations, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

ATLA Religion Database

This database indexes journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.  The coverage is from 1949 to the present.

Encyclopedia of Religion

The second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of the first edition's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers.

Religion & Philosophy Collection

The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a database with more than 243 full-text journals. It covers topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.  The coverage is from 1984, the full text coverage from 1990 to the present.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL), you can:

  • borrow books and more from other libraries
  • get copies of articles that Emory doesn't own

You will be notified when your materials arrive (most materials are obtained within 2 weeks).

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322