Music Treasures Consortium
Access the digital collections of five important music collections: the British Library, Harvard University, the Juilliard School, the Library of Congress, the Morgan Library & Museum, and the New York Public Library.
A digital library composed from collections held at the Bibliothèque Nationale of France. Contents are mainly rare and primary source materials and out-of-print and hard to access documents which are in the public domain. Holdings include printed materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music, dictionaries, etc.), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, etc.) and sound recordings.
Early English Books Online
Includes many scores as well as books. DiscoverE contains records for many of the individual titles, and the collection may also be searched directly from the link above.
Parker Library on the Web
More than 550 manuscripts at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, from the 6th century through the 16th. Collection strengths: Anglo-Saxon manuscripts, Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts, and English illuminated manuscripts. The manuscripts are described and annotated, with references to relevant editions and other literature. User aids and on-line tutorials on searching are included.
DIAMM: Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
To search, you must first register with the site.
An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts in American libraries.
The Online Gallery may be searched separately, but no advanced search is available.
Juilliard Manuscript Collection
Digitized images of an important collection of manuscripts, sketches, engravers' proofs, and first editions of major composers' works. (Also available through the Music Treasures Consortium.)
Beethoven's 9th Symphony Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Preussischer Kulturbesitz
Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Felix - Werke
Complete edition of Mendelssohn's works published 1874-1744 by Breitkopf & Härtel, from the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
To find facsimiles in the Emory Libraries, use discoverE.
Records for facsimiles of manuscripts have one of these subject headings:
[Composer name] —Manuscripts—Facsimiles
The library also hold facsimiles of some early printed editions. The searches below may yield these as well, unless you include "manuscripts" as a search term.
Browse the shelves to find many of the Music and Media Library's facsimiles.
Many facsimiles are classed in ML96.4 and ML96.5 and are kept together in a special "folio" section. These may be checked out.
However, numerous other facsimiles are not kept here. These include
To find microfilm and microfiche collections at Emory, also use discoverE.
Search for these as if they were printed materials—there's no subject heading for microfilms, microfiche, or other microforms.
If you know that a microform set is held at Emory, but you don't know the title, try limiting searches to LOCATION: MICROFORMS.
Notable sets at Emory:
To find out about published facsimiles and microforms that Emory doesn't own, use these library catalogs:
(These catalogs are described in the Classical Music Research Guide.)