Skip to main content

Primary Sources for the History of Science and Medicine: Home

PRIMARY SOURCES

Where can I find primary sources by era?

PRIMARY SOURCES

Where can I find primary sources by subject?

African American History

A guide to primary source collections for African American history.

Asian American History

A guide to primary source collections for the study of Asian American history.

Hispanic American History

A guide to primary source collections for Hispanic American history.

History of Science and Medicine

A guide to primary source collections for the history of science and medicine.

Jewish History

A guide to primary source collections for Jewish history.

Native American History

A guide to primary source collections for the study of Native American History.

Political History

A guide to primary source collections for political history.

Slavery, Abolition and Emancipation

A guide to primary source collections for slavery, abolition and emancipation.

Women's History

 A guide to primary source collections for women's history.

DATABASES@EMORY

What are the major databases for American history?

The Woodruff Library's databases provide bibliographic information and access to books, journals, images and documents in a wide range of subject areas.The library supports over six-hundred databases. Over one-hundred of these are devoted to source material and historical scholarship about the United States.  

To find citations, abstracts, and articles by historians click on the database links below. To browse our primary source databases and microfilm collections click on the links to the left.

SECONDAY SOURCES IN DATABASES@EMORY

Where can I find secondary source journals, book abstracts, and reviews?

HISTORY:

America: History and Life
Definitive source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Like many electronic indexes, America: History and Life connects you to articles in other databases via a direct link or the button.

Historical Abstracts

Scholarly journal articles, books reviews, and dissertations in modern world history (1450 to present) excluding the U.S. and Canada.  Covers sources published from 1955 to present. 

History Cooperative   
Articles from recent years of William and Mary Quarterly, Journal of American Ethnic History and other history journals not available elsewhere electronically. 

 

MULTI-SUBJECT (don't overlook the value of these databases which allow you to search across many disciplines simultaneously):

Academic Search Complete 
Research Library Galileo Edition 
Two databases that cover both scholarly and non-scholarly (i.e. popular) journal articles.

Humanities & Social Sciences Abstracts
Scholarly journal articles from as early as 1907 to the present.

JSTOR
 Full text of scholarly articles from the entire historical content of many journals, some dating from the 1800s and earlier. Beware: articles from recent years are not included.

Periodicals Index Online
Extensive coverage of scholarly articles in the humanities and social sciences published 1800 to the present.

Project Muse
Access to full text of scholarly journal articles from the 1990s to present.

Web of Science
Despite its name, this database references articles from ALL disciplines including History.  Identify important scholars and works in your area of interest by using Web of Science's CITED REFERENCE SEARCH feature, which identifies sources cited by a relevant author or work that you've already identified. 

 

RACE, ETHNIC, & GENDER STUDIES:

Bibliography of Native North Americans
Index of journal articles, books, conference papers, and government documents about native North American culture, history, and life.
Black Studies Center
Integrates a variety of resources, including: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience [in-depth essays]; International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text; Black Literature Index [fiction, poetry and literary reviews]; African American newspapers; and Black Studies dissertations.  More info ...

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text of U.S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish.  

Gender Watch
Full text of scholarly journal and popular magazine articles, books, and other literature in gender and feminist studies from 1970 to present.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) 
Covers journal articles about Latin America and the Caribbean, including Hispanics/Latinos in the United States, from 1970 to present.

RAMBI - Index to Articles in Jewish Studies

Index to selected scholarly articles in Jewish Studies and the study of Eretz Israel. Includes articles published 1965 to present in English, Hebrew, Yiddish, and other languages.

 

LAW & POLITICS:

CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Authored since 1923 by journalists, each weekly issue of CQ Researcher focuses on one issue (e.g. gangs, offshore drilling, health care reform) and provides a topical overview; historical background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; pro/con statements from opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Useful for background information and suggestions for further reading.

LexisNexis Legal (part of the LexisNexis Academic database - click on the "Legal" tab at top left of search screen)
Law review articles - which review legal history on specific topics - from the early 1980s to present. For earlier law review articles, see Hein Online.

Political Science Complete
Full text or references to journal articles, conference papers, and reference books in political science - with a worldwide focus.

Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
Covers journal articles, books, and selected local, state, national, and international government documents from 1915 to present in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences (primarily economics, anthropology, sociology, public health, and political science).

 

RELIGION:

ATLA Religion Database

American Theological Library Association database covering journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the areas of religion and theology.

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322