Skip to main content

Primary Sources for Jewish History: Jewish History Collections

Guide to resources for the study of Jewish history.

Digital Manuscript Collections

  • Jewish Life in America Original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.
  • Testaments to the Holocaust. Series One: Archives of the Wiener Library Online publications and records from the Wiener Library.
  • Ancestry Library Edition Major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social and genealogical researchers. Includes the Jewish Family History Collection.
  • Yale Avalon Project Yale online archive of documents. Includes the 8 volume Nazi Conspiracy and Agression and the "Blue Series" trials of war criminals.
  • Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Collections

    Jewish History Guide to manuscript collections related to Jewish history and culture at MARBL.

    Periodicals and Newspapers

    • Historical Jewish Press A collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages and time periods.
    • Forward Online version of the Forward. Includes links to other Jewish periodicals (click on Media Links). Founded in 1897 as the Yiddish-language Jewish Daily Forward (or Forverts in Yiddish), today this weekly publication serves an English speaking audience. Complete backfile available on Microfilm 4067. 1994 to the present included in Ethnic NewsWatch.

    • Jerusalem Post Online edition of the daily newspaper, with an archive of the past year's issues.  Issues from 1950 to 1988 are available on microfilm 3532  in the Woodruff Library. Issues from 1989 to the present are available on Newsbank Access World News.

    • ha-Arets Online edition of the Hebrew daily newspaper.

    • American Periodicals Series (APS) Historically significant periodicals from the 18th and 19th century. Includes a handful of obscure ninteenth-century titles related to Jewish history, including Isreal's Advocate (1823-1827) and Jew: Being a Defence of Judaism against all Adversaries (1823-1825).

     

    E-Books

    • HebrewBooks Database of old American Hebrew books that are out of print and/or circulation.
    • Bar Ilan Responsa Project Includes numerous works from the Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations. In addition, the database includes the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; major codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Arukh with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc. Also includes Entsiklopedyah Talmudit. This online version has a variety of search options.

    • Jewish Virtual Library Includes digitized books from the Library of Congress.

     

    © Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322