Skip to main content

Political Science 490: United Nations: Print and Bibliographic Resources

Other UN Materials

Most of our primary UN documents are located on the 1st floor of the Woodruff Library.  In our catalog, such resources are designated as "GOV-UN."  These documents include records, statistical yearbooks, indexes, treaties, etc.  Secondary material (i.e., analyses, studies, etc. of UN activities) will be in the Stacks (and will be indicated as such in our catalog).

Our League of Nations Collection is also located on Level 1

Digitized League of Nations materials are in several locations:

http://digital.library.northwestern.edu/league/ (Statistical and Disarmament Documents)

 

 

discoverE

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

Microfilm

Use the Access UN database to locate UN documents in our microfilm collection.  More recent documents are available in full-text form.  The database goes up to 2004.  Be sure to record the UN document number, as the collection is organized as such.

Official Records

United Nations Official Records


  • United Nations General Assembly (GAOR) (1946-2004)
    UN Official Records, 1st floor, compact shelving

  • The "main deliberative body" which currently consists of 185 Member States, of which each State has one vote. Regular sessions are held between mid September and mid December. The special committees and bodies of the General Assembly undertake the work of the General Assembly during the non-session time. Includes indices (including subject), supplements, and summary records of meetings.
  • United Nations Security Council (SCOR) (1946-2004)
    UN Official Records, 1st floor, compact shelving

  • The body responsible for maintaining peace and security. Consists of 15 members, of which China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, and United States are permanent members. The other ten members are elected for two year terms by the General Assembly. The Security Council is convened at any time in the event of dispute and decisions made must be carried out by Member States. Includes indices (including subject), supplements, and summary records of meetings.
  • United Nations Economic and Social Council (ESCOR) (1946-present)
    UN Official Records, 1st floor, compact shelving

  • Coordinates the economic and social work of the UN and its specialized agencies and institutions. The Economic and Social Council works under the authority of the General Assembly, has 54 members, and meets for a one-month period annually.
  • United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD): Trade and Development Board (TDOR) (1965-1992)
    UN Official Records, 1st floor, compact shelving

  • The governing board, with a current membership of 144 states, of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). The Trade and Development Board "examines interdependence and global economic trends from a trade and development perspective, reviews implementation of the Programme of Action for the Least Developed Countries for the 1990a and UNCTAD's contributions to UN-NADAF, ensures the overall consistency of UNCTAD's activities, reviews the secretariat's work priorities, and technical co-operation activities, and ensures co-ordination with other international organizations."
  • United Nations Trusteeship Council (TCOR) (1947-1980)
    UN Official Records, 1st floor, compact shelving

  • Established to ensure that Governments responsible for administering Trust Territories take adequate steps to prepare them for self-government or independence. The task of the Trusteeship System was completed in 1994, when the Security Council terminated the Trusteeship Agreement for the last of the original 11 UN Trusteeships - the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (Palau), administered by the United States. All Trust Territories have attained self-government or independence, either as separate States or by joining neighbouring independent countries. The Trusteeship Council will now meet as and where circumstances so demand.
  • United Nations Treaty Series (1946-present)
    UN Official Records, 1st floor, compact shelving

  • Contains "treaties and international agreements filed or registered with the Secretariat of the United Nations pursuant to Article 102 of the Charter." See also the United Nations Treaty Collection database.

     

  • United Nations Documents Index (Z6481 .U44 Gov-UN) is one of the principal sources for researching/locating UN materials. It has undergone a number of title changes over the years. Most, but not all of these indices have subject indices, which often prove to be the very useful.
  • Monthly Bibliography (1998-present)
    Z6481 .U56 Gov-UN

  • Combines books, periodicals, and electronic products into a single bibliography arranged in thirty-five broad subject categories which correspond to the UNBIS Thesaurus and includes an author and title index.
  • Monthly Bibliography: Part I: Books, Official Documents, Serials (1978-present)
    Z6481 .U54 Gov-UN

  • Titles of newly acquired books, official documents, and serials grouped together into eight chapters: United Nations and other International Organizations; Political, Historical, and Geographical Questions; Law; Social and Cultural Questions; Economics; Science and Technology; General Reference Works, Dictionaries; Library and Information Science.
  • Monthly Bibliography: Part II: Selected Articles (1978-1997)
    Z6481 .U55 Gov-UN

  • Includes bibliographic descriptions of current periodical literature and collective works of interest to the United Nations and the international community grouped by subjects into six categories: United Nations and Other International Organizations; Political Questions; Law; Social and Cultural Questions; Economics; Science and Technology.
  • Monthly List of Selected Articles (1947-1977)
    Z6481 .U55 Gov-UN

  • Predecesor to Monthly Bibliograph: Part II . Includes bibliographic descriptions on selected articles grouped by subjects into these categories: United Nations, International Peace; Political Questions; Legal Questions; Humanitarian and Educational Questions; Economics; Finance; Communication and Transit.

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322