Banner Image

ARTHIST 190 Flora and Fauna in Ancient American Art: Getting Started

This freshman seminar will explore images of plants and animals in the art of the indigenous ancient Amerindian cultures of Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, and Peru (before 1600 CE).

Getting Started

Steps in the Research Process

  • STEP 1: Formulate your question
  • STEP 2: Get background information (see REFERENCE Box below)
  • STEP 3: Refine your search topic
  • STEP 4: Consider your resource options
  • STEP 5: Select and use the appropriate tool, Books (discoverE), databases, etc. 
  • STEP 6: Locate your materials
  • STEP 7: Analyze your materials
  • STEP 8: Organize and write
  • STEP 9: Cite your work/Compose your bibliography

Finding Books at Emory

From the Books, Movies, Music tab in discoverE:

  • Type in your keywords
  • When you get some results, use "Refine My Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more

WorldCat

Search libraries worldwide. WorldCat Galileo database contains citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, and videotapes.

Materials from WorldCat may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Use Reference Works to Jumpstart Your Research

Reference Works:

 


  • Provide an overview of your topic
  • Are often written by scholars or experts in the field
  • Provide key people, places, events, and terms that you can use to refine your searches
  • Often offer suggestions for further reading


To find reference materials for your research topic ... 

... try a SUBJECT search in EUCLID or discoverE combining keywords for your topic with one of the terms in the box to the left
<<<

 

 

Search or browse this online INDEX to contents (i.e. article titles and back-of-the-book index entries) from thousands of reference sources.  Reference Universe provides LINKS to a EUCLID (Emory Library) catalog record if we own the reference title in print, OR to full text of an online reference title if Emory has access to it.
 
Searchable ONLINE FULL-TEXT ACCESS to many reference sources in history and other disciplines:
Oxford Reference Online (includes  Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures Dictionary of World Mythology,  Dictionary of Zoology, etc.
Credo Reference Online

REF F1218.6 .A73 2001 Archaeology of ancient Mexico and Central America : an encyclopedia / Susan Toby Evans, David L. Webster, editors. New York : Garland Pub., 2001

REF F1218.6 .O95 2001 V.1-3 The Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures : the civilizations of Mexico and Central America Carrasco, David.

 REF F1219 .B932 1996
Encyclopedia of ancient Mesoamerica
Bunson, Margaret.

REF GT2850 .E53 2003 V.1-3  Encyclopedia of food and culture

Call Numbers & the "STACKS"

To find a book or other physical item, you'll need the following three pieces of information from the item record in EUCLID or discoverE:

  • LIBRARY:  Woodruff Library is designated as "GENERAL" or "GENERAL LIBRARIES"

  • CALL NUMBER:  System of letters and numbers that group materials by subject

  • LOCATION: many Woodruff Library materials have a location of "STACKS" which is library lingo for "book floors." Use our call number guide to find out which floor of the Stacks has the book you need.

Subject Guide

Kim Collins
Contact:
404-727-2997
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322