Skip to main content

Revolutionary France, 1750-1815: Getting Started

History 308

Cite it with EasyBib

Emory is currently subscribing to an enhanced version of EasyBib. Type in a book/article name and get a citation.

Topic Selection/Subject Encyclopedias

 

Before starting on your paper or project, you'll need to develop a research topic, collect background information, and then find books, articles, and other materials associated with the keywords you've identified that relate to your topic. In order to do comprehensive research, it is important to think about which other disciplines may touch on your topic. Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, or guides to the literature are a great way to find background information on a topic.

Quick reference

Reference Universe

Reference Universe is designed to be used in conjunction with a library's print reference collection. It provides the ability to search the article titles and back-of-the-book indexes to over 4,200 subject encyclopedias and reference works from 250 publishers, with links directly to discoverE to indicate which of the titles Emory owns. It also links to online versions of the sources, if available, and to reviews of the works indexed. The Browse feature permits exploration by publisher, title, subject heading, index terms, and LC call number.

Literature Resource Center

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes articles from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and much more.

Biographies, Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Biography & Geneology Master Index

Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Biography in Context

A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Biography Reference Bank

Includes Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, Current Biography, the Junior Authors & Illustrators Series, the Wilson biographical series on world artists, authors, composers, nobel prize winners, songwriters, musicians, film directors, american reformers.

A critical dictionary of the French Revolution
Woodruff Stacks DC148 .D5313 1989

Dictionnaire de biographie française
Storage and Theology Reference CT143 .D5

Dictionnaire de la révolution française, institutions, hommes & faits
Online and Woodruff Reference DC147 .B7

Dictionnaire historique de la Révolution française
Woodruff Reference DC147 .D5 1989

Dictionnaire historique et biographique de la révolution et de l'empire 1789-1815
Online and Woodruff Reference DC147 .R65 1975

Dictionnaire Napoléon
Woodruff Reference DC147 .D53 1987

The encyclopedia of the French revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars : a political, social, and military history
Woodruff Reference DC220 .E53 2006

Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution
DC147 .H57 1985

Subject Guide

Chella Vaidyanathan's picture
Chella Vaidyanathan
Contact:
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle
404-727-5049
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!

Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: ask@emory.libanswers.com
In Person: Woodruff Library, Main floor

Click here for our current library hours

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322