Skip to main content

Revolutionary France, 1750-1815: Secondary Sources

History 308

Getting Help

Getting personalized research assistance is easy! Librarians are available to help you in-person or via telephone, e-mail, and IM.

Face-to-face help is available at the Woodruff Service Desk on level 2. For our service hours, please see our current service desk hours.

Appointments with a subject specialist can be made by current Emory students, faculty and staff. To set up a consultation appointment with a subject librarian, see our Subject Librarian Directory and e-mail the appropriate librarian. If you do not see a liaison for your subject, please contact us using the e-mail form.

Call us by phone at 404-727-6873.

Or you can send us an instant message.

Or browse a topic:

Sources to Find Academic Articles

  • Search one of the library's 400+ databases
  • Databases like JSTOR, LexisNexis, and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries pay for access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a list of databases.
  • Search Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

For more information, see Find Articles at Woodruff Library guide.

Full-text databases

Academic Search Complete (dates vary)

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full-text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for nearly 1,000 journals.

JSTOR (dates vary)

JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Art Full Text

A bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from Art periodicals published throughout the world.

Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art, Benezit's, etc.))

Includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, as well as digital images of the most frequently studied works of art), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (entries by art historians, philosophers, and theorists), and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Indexes

Bibliography of British and Irish History (55 BCE to present)

The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

Historical Abstracts  (1450 to present)

Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

MLA International Bibliography (dates vary)

Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA)

European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.

Art Indexes

Subject Guide

Chella Vaidyanathan's picture
Chella Vaidyanathan
Contact:
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle
404-727-5049
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!

Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: ask@emory.libanswers.com
In Person: Woodruff Library, Main floor

Click here for our current library hours

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322