Banner Image

Anthropology 385R - The Anthropology of Death and Burial: Finding Articles

Dr. Liv Stutz, Fall 2011
Where to start...

How do your know/get ideas about where to find information on your topic?

  • Databases@Emory webpage lists article databases you can search for different subjects.  Use the dropdown box in the "Find by Subject" field to view a list of databases for each subject.

  • Emory Libraries Research Guides provide webpages with lists of links to useful sources for a variety of subjects.  Choose your subject in the left hand box.

  • Ask a librarian or your professor.  They can get you started.

  • You'll learn the key databases and journals as you progress further in to your research.
Social Sciences/Public Policy Databases (scholarly articles & NGO and government reports)

Some of these databases focus on scholarly articles.  Others also include government and NGO reports and links to organizations. Don't forget you can also find great reports at the WHO and CDC websites.

Some good overall databases to search for cultural anthropology issues:

  • Annual Reviews Online (literature reviews) Review articles (that review the existing literature on specific topics) in the areas of biomedical, physical and social sciences. This is a really great place to start your research. It includes fantastic bibliographies (usually of over 100 sources) that can lead you to related articles/books.
  • Web of Science (general)  Multidisciplinary database covering the top journals in science, social science, and the arts & humanities. GREAT database for anthro-related topics!
  • Sociological Abstracts (sociology) Indexes sociology and sociological topics in anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science and social psychology.
  • SOCINDEX (sociology) Similar to Sociological Abstracts
  • Anthropology Plus (anthropology) Unites Harvard's "Anthropological Literature" and the Royal Anthropological Institute's (UK) "Anthropological Index". It indexes articles and essays in over 2500 journals and edited works on all aspects of anthropology and archaeology (in English and other European languages).     SEARCH TIP: Anthro Plus is a bit difficult to search -- it does not have abstracts (but does link to full-text) so when you search you are only searching article titles and a few keywords assigned to each article. THEREFORE, to get better results use general/broad search terms for your searches.  Also note that as the database is actually two databases, unless you go to ADVANCED search and change the RANK BY field, the results from the two databases will not interfile (and you may miss some good articles if you don't scroll to the middle of the results).
  • Psycinfo (psychology)


Other more specific databases that could be useful:

  • ATLA Religion (religion)
  • RAMBI (Jewish studies)
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals (Jewish studies)
  • ABI/Inform Complete (business) Indexes business journals and trade magazines.
  • POPLINE (demography and reproductive issues)  focus on reproductive health, family planning, health policy, AIDS, environmental health, public health, and development.  Includes scholarly articles, published & unpublished reports.
  • CINAHL (allied health)
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
  • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International (public policy) Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences.
  • Women's Studies International (women) Covers the core disciplines in Women' Studies and the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.
  • Medline (biomedical)
    Indexes journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
  • Google Scholar Don't forget Google Scholar -- many resources are available here.  To have Google Scholar connect with Emory resources if you are off-campus: click on "SCHOLAR PREFERENCES", then go to the LIBRARY LINKS section to search for Emory University, then check all the Emory related boxes and click on the SAVE PREFERENCES button.  This will connect Google Scholar to Emory and display Emory links in the search results that connect you directly to our resources (when you click on the link you will be prompted to enter your Emory netid/password).
Area Studies Databases

These multidisciplinary databases focus on articles about specific regions. Some good ones are listed below.  Others are available via the drop-down "Find by subject" menu (choose "Area Studies") on the Databases webpage.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD (Africa -- primarily South Africa)

Bibliography of Asian Studies  (East, Southeast, and South Asia)

Amercian Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) (East Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union)

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) (Latin America)

Index Islamicus (the Islamic world including the Middle East, main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere.)

 

Finding News Articles

**Make sure to check the date range before you execute your search -- the default date range is often just the last few months.

 

 

LexisNexis Academic (great source)

Provides full-text access to over 13,000 news, business and legal sources. The sources include international, national and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; transcripts of television and radio news programs; law reviews; company reports and much more. While the database provides full-text access to the sources, it's default "general" search searches for key words and phrases in only the headlines and lead paragraphs.The NEWS tab search let you easily  refine your searches.

 

Factiva (great source)

Searches nearly 8,000 publications in 22 languages, including the world's most prestigious publications, local sources and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires.

  • To search LOCAL news sources from other countries, go to the SOURCE field and choose your countries.
  • NOTE:  Default is to search full articles for your keywords, which can lead to false hits.  So, you may want to change the "Search for free-text terms in" field to "Headline & lead paragraph".
  • NOTE: Emory's license to Factiva supports two concurrent users; please use the "logout" button when you finish your session.

World News Connection

A foreign news service from the U.S. government that offers translated and English-language news and information. Includes the local media sources in foreign countries and regions. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

Subject Guide
Lori Jahnke
Subjects:Anthropology
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322