Skip to main content

Health and Disease in Africa: Newspapers

Emphasizing social science and historical resources rather than clinical research.

African News: Selected Digital Sources

 

Below are digital sources of news about Africa. They are a mix of current news sources as well as archival newspapers such as The Times Digital Archive (London), New York Times and World Newspaper Archive.  For more information on African news sources see Africa Research Guide:  News.

 

  • Access World News includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts. Dates vary.
  • allAfrica.com provides current news from over 125 African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications all over the African continent. Also includes selected African-related reports, speeches, press releases and announcements from governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa. Includes the archive of the Africa News Service back to 1997. Emory users have access to the Premium/Advanced Search engine.
  • BBC World connects to the British Broadcasting's overseas news coverage which also has tabs for TV and radio. A separate Africa news page is available.
  • British Pathe allows you to preview items from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970. Contains a good amount of news from Africa.
  • Factiva lets you quickly search nearly 8,000 publications from around the world (including Africa) in 22 languages. It includes the world's most prestigious publications and the Reuters and Dow Jones newswires. You can select "Source Category" and 'Publication by Region."
  • Lexis/Nexis Academic is a major source for newspapers throughout the world, including Africa. You can limit your search by source.
  • New York Times (1851-2006); more recent coverage via Lexis/Nexis Academic above.
  • PressDisplay provides online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.  The ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 1,700 U.S. and international titles —from 94 countries in 48 languages. Sub-saharan Africa titles are limited with the richest collection currently from South Africa.  Using Library PressDisplay is similar to reading the familiar print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. The service also provides up to a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles and the entire backfile. Note there are five simultaneous users for this database
  •  The Times Digital Archive (1785-1985) is the digital archive of the Times (London), an important paper with significant coverage of African affairs. The database is searchable full text, including advertisements and photographs, back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. More recent years of the Times (London) are searchable on Lexis-Nexis
  • World Newspaper Archive, is an initiative from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). It currently included the full text of 43 newpapers representing 14 African countries. Coverage ends in 1922. When you reach database, select "Place of Publication" and then "Africa."
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322