Skip to main content

Health and Disease in Africa: Videos & Films

Emphasizing social science and historical resources rather than clinical research.

African Films@Emory

Emory's has a large and growing collection of over 1000 films related to Africa or by African filmmakers. The media collection includes documentaries and feature films as well as television programs. This collection is primarily housed in the Heilbrun Music and Media Library on the 4th floor of the Woodruff Library. There are almost 100 films dealing with AIDS in Africa. Locate films by using discoverE.

African films obtained through 2008 are identified by the searchable key word phrase "African Studies films."  Insert that phrase into the keyword search in discoverE and you will get a list of the film collection as of 2008. Go to discoverE's  Advance Search and combine  "African Studies films" in a search box with another search element and you can limit your request to African Studies films only. For example, combine "African Studies films" and "aids."

To locate all African films, including those, acquired after 2008, see the box on finding films in discoverE below.

Use discoverE to Find Films

Use discoverE's catalog tab to find audiovisuals as well as books, journals government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

SELECT ADVANCED SEARCH and limit your search to videos using discoverE's drop down menu under Material Type.

If you do a simple search using keywords, you will have an option to select videos on the lefthand side of your searchbox (change "All items" to "video") or get your results and limit to videos on the lefthand side of your screen  under Refine Search Results.

Of Interest: Steps for the Future (Series) , films focusing on Southern Africa that examine a myriad of subjects: AIDS activism, religion, sexuality, mother-to-child transmission, migrant workers, gay rights, AIDS orphans and sex workers.

The collection also features a variety of genres and styles: documentaries, investigative stories, short fiction, experimental films, music videos and public service announcements.

YouTube

Never forget YouTube as a source of videos on health issues in Africa, e.g.  The Trouble with Malaria in Africa with pioneering historical epidemiologist James. L. A. Webb, Jr. (Delivered Jan. 28, 2013 sponsored by University of New England, Center for Global Humanities). As with everything on the web, be sure to evaluate the source.

Other Sources

Colonial Films. This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. Over 150 films are available for viewing online. You can search or browse for films by country, date, topic, or keyword. Over 350 of the most important films in the catalogue are presented with extensive critical notes. There is a section: Empire and Health

National Geographic offers a number of full episodes and clips from their vaious programs online as does PBS. Check other channels and Hulu for other programmming.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322