Skip to main content

High Museum of Art Power Users: General Reference

High Museum of Art and the Emory University Libraries have a MOA that allows several HMA staff to have access to Emory resources for their research needs.

Need Help writing your paper?

Use the Emory Writing Center guide to find more help.


A short guide to writing about art

Sylvan Barnet

STACKS N7476 .B37 (many editions available)

Welcome!

Welcome to the General Reference page. On this page, you will find information regarding materials located in the reference section of the Woodruff Library. For reference materials specific to individual fields or time periods, please consult the 'Time Periods' and 'Formats' pages.

Ask a Librarian

Contact the Library Service desk for the answers to your questions!

Reference Phone: 404-727-6875
Circulation Phone: 404-727-6873
E-mail: ask@emory.libanswers.com
In Person: Woodruff Library, Main floor

Click here for our current library hours

Google Scholar

Online Reference

Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art and Benezit's)
 Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, as well as digital images of the most frequently studied works of art) Benezit's,The Oxford Companion to Western Art (entries with reliable coverage of artists and their work), Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (entries by art historians, philosophers, and theorists), and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts).

Bibliographies

Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists

Reference Z5938 .F73 1997

The Arts of Africa: An Annotated Bibliography (1986-1992)

Reference Z5961 .A35 A7

Fine Arts: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories, and Handbooks
Reference Z5931 .E47 1990

Dictionaries

Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart (1907-1950) 32 volumes
Edited by Dr. UlrichThieme und Becker.
Reference N 40 .T4 v.1-32

Register zum Allgemeinen Lexikon der bildenden Künstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart und zum Allgemeinen Lexikon der bildenden Künstler des XX. Jahrhunderts
Thieme-Becker/Vollmer Gesamtregister
Reference N40 .V6 v.1-6
A continuation of Ulrich Thieme's "Allgemeines Lexikon der Bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart.

Dictionary of artists / translation of Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays/ edited by Emmanuel Benezit.
Reference N40 .B46 2006 V.1-14

Dictionary of International Contemporary Artists
Reference N6490 .D5 1995

The Dictionary of Art 34 volumes 
Reference N31 .D5 1996 v.1-34 Grove Art Online is part of Oxford Art Online

Who's Who in American Art
Reference N6536 .W5 2005/2006 Annual 1936/37 - past year in Stacks

Who Was Who in American Art 1564-1975 : 400 years of Artists in America
Reference N6536 .W56 1999

Directories

American Art Directory
Reference Desk N9 .A3 2005/2006 & Reference N9 .A3 2003/2004

Art Diary International
Reference Desk N50 .A77 2005/2006 & Reference N50 .A77 2004/2005

International Directory of Arts
Reference Desk N50 .I6 2006 v.1-3

Encyclopedias and Guides

Encyclopedia of World Art (1959-1987)
Reference N31 .E55

Guide to Research in Classical Art and Mythology
Reference N7760 .V3 1991

Guide to the Literature of Art History
Reference Z5931 .A67

Subject Guide

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322