Skip to main content

High Museum of Art Power Users: American Art

High Museum of Art and the Emory University Libraries have a MOA that allows several HMA staff to have access to Emory resources for their research needs.

Databases

For assistance in how to search databases to find a journal article, please see Research FAQ's

Art Full-text and Art Index Retrospective Covers 404 art publications from around the world.

ARTbibliographies Modern
 Abstracts international selection of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on art from 1850-present.

ARTstor
The ARTstor database includes digital images representing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. 

Bibliography of the History of Art (NOW IBA-International Bibliography of Art)
Covering European art from post-classical times to the present and American art from post-Columbian times to the present

Google Scholar: use the Scholar Preferences form to identify Emory as your home library and Google Schoalr will show you Emory library access links in your search results.

Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals
1800-1900 The only online index to art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century. The 42 journals indexed represent a nearly complete coverage of art journals from this period full text, although users can access bibliographic information for all of the journals.

JSTOR
The Journal Storage Project provides full text access to the back files of many core academic journals.

America History and Life [EBSCOhost]
Description: Indexes journals, book reviews, and dissertations for American history and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI), part of Web of Science, includes subjects such as Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater.

Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Project Muse
Provides networked access to the full text of more than 150 scholarly journals, including important historical journals. Coverage is from the mid-nineties to the present.

 

Primary Sources

Harper's new monthly magazine [0361-8277]online or AP2 .H3, STOR-JRNL STORAGE

Use ProQuest Historical Databases, which allows users to access online, full-text articles from the following:

  • American Periodical Series (APS) Online
  • Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1925)
  • Boston Globe (1872 - 1922)
  • Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1985)
  • Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1992)
  • Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1985)
  • The New York Times (1851-2002)
  • The Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1988)
  • The Washington Post (1877 - 1989)

[London] Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)
Provides searchable full-text access to the Times, iincluding searchable advertisements and photographs from 1785 through 1985.  The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. This archive does not include the Sunday Times, a newspaper independent of the Times. Coverage:1785-1985 (Use LexisNexis Academic for Times issues July 1, 1985 to present)

19th Century British Library Newspapers

This database consists of full-text national and regional newspapers from Victorian Britain, digitized from the collection of the British Library. It is the sister product to 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (1604-1800), already owned by Emory.

Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals
Indexes entire journal contents -- articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements -- of nearly all art periodicals that were published in the United States during the 19th century.

Accessible Archives   Includes several important newspaper collections


Early American Newspapers Digital (digitization in progress; will cover 1690-1876 when complete)
Based largely on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820


Helpful websites

Library of Congress, Chronicling America

This site contains searchable reproductions of American newspapers from 1880 to 1910.

               

The Rossetti Archive

The product of an interdisciplinary team of scholars, this site contains letters, images, writings, and other material pertaining to the life and works of the poet and painter Dante Gabriel Rossetti. Rossetti was Whistler's contemporary, sometime friend, and neighbor, so much of the information on this site is relevant to our subject.

               

Freer Gallery, American collection

 A sample of the works by Whistler in the Freer's extensive collection are reproduced here, along with a printable brochure summarizing the history of the Peacock Room

               

Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs

The Library of Congress contains an enormous collection of Whistler prints. All are listed here and many are reproduced digitally.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322