Skip to main content

High Museum of Art Power Users: Photography

High Museum of Art and the Emory University Libraries have a MOA that allows several HMA staff to have access to Emory resources for their research needs.

Photography Bios

REF TR12 .E85 1996 Index to American photographic collections : compiled at the International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House / Andrew H. Eskind, editor ; Greg Drake, Kirsti Ringger, Lynne Rumney, associate editors.3rd enl. ed.

New York : G.K. Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, c1996.

TR12 .E8524 1998 V.1-3 STACKS   International photography : George Eastman House index to photographers, collections, and exhibitions / Andrew H. Eskind, editor ; Greg Drake, Kirsti Ringger, Lynne Rumney, associate editors.

Enl. and expanded version of the Index to American photographic collections, 3rd enl. ed.

New York : G.K. Hall ; London : Prentice Hall International, 1998. 3 v.

The online version, Photography Collections Online: http://www.geh.org/

 

REF TR139 .B767 1983 Macmillan biographical encyclopedia of photographic artists & innovators / Turner Browne, Elaine Partnow. New York : Macmillan ; c1983. London Collier Macmillan, c1983.

 

REF TR139 .C664 1995 Contemporary photographers / executive editor, Martin Marix Evans ; consultant editor, Amanda Hopkinson ; advisers, Andrey Baskakov ... [et al.].3rd ed.

New York : St. James Press, c1995.

These two encyclopedias include biographies of photographers and essays on more general topics. The nineteenth century set includes photographers who worked at the end of the nineteenth century and into the twentieth century:

On-order

Encyclopedia of  Nineteenth-Century Photography, Hannavy, John, (ed). New York,                                                      

London: Routledge, 2008. 2 vols.

 TR642 .E5 2006 V.1-3

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography, Warren, Lynn, (ed.) New York, NY:

Taylor & Francis Group, 2006. 3 vols.

REF TR139 .B767 1983 , Browne, Turner and Elaine Partnow. Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of   

Photographic Artists & Innovators. New York: MacMillan Publishing Company, 1982.

 

TR139 .P345 2005 OVERSIZED Palmquist, Peter and Thomas R. Kailbourn. Pioneer Photographers from the Mississippi to the Continental Divide: a biographical dictionary, 1839-1865. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 2005.

TR139 .P35 2000 STACKS Palmquist, Peter and Thomas R. Kailbourn. Pioneer Photographers of the Far West: A Biographical Dictionary, 1840-1865. Stanford, Calif., 2000.

TR23 .H35 1995 OVERSIZED Davis, Keith. An American Century of Photography: From Dry-Plate to Digital: The Hallmark Photographic Collection. New York: Hallmark Cards in Association with Harry N. Abrams, 1999.

Photography Images

Image Collections:

American Photography

PBS offers a hundred years of American images.

Daguerreotype Portraits and Views

The Library's daguerreotype collection consists of more than 725 photographs dating from 1839 to 1864. Portrait daguerreotypes produced by the Mathew Brady studio make up the major portion of the collection. The collection also includes early architectural views by John Plumbe, several Philadelphia street scenes, early portraits by pioneering daguerreotypist Robert Cornelius, studio portraits by black photographers James P. Ball and Francis Grice, and copies of painted portraits.

 

Early Photography: 1839-1860

This national 'on line' catalogue contains art-historical information on the earliest photographs owned by the Rijksmuseum (Rijksprentenkabinet) in Amsterdam, the Print Room of the University of Leiden and 25 other museums, archives and libraries in the Netherlands.

Harvard University Photographs

The Directory to Photographs at Harvard, is online guide to the photograph collections held in libraries, archives, museums, and teaching hospitals throughout the oldest university in the United States. The Directory serves as a general reference for students and researchers intent on exploring the collections.

George Eastman House

A steadily growing digital image sampler and browsing resource for the vast photography holdings of George Eastman House.

History of the American West 

The Photography Collection consists of more than 600,000 prints and negatives that document the history of Colorado and the American West. The majority of the collection dates from the 19th century and includes glass negatives, cartes-de-visite, tintypes, photograph albums and stereocards.

J. Paul Getty Museum

This site offers hundreds of images of photographs, prints, negatives and stereographs.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.

LIFE photo archive hosted by Google

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

National Archives

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.

National Geographic Photography

Is the source for photos, free desktop wallpapers of places, animals, nature, underwater, travel, and more. View hundreds of photos.

NYPL Digital Gallery

NYPL Digital Gallery is The New York Public Library's image database, developed to provide free and open online access to hundreds of thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of The Library. Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of The Library, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.

Photographs from the FSA-OWI 1935-1945

The images in the Farm Security Administration-Office of War Information Collection are among the most famous documentary photographs ever produced. Created by a group of U.S. government photographers, the images show Americans in every part of the nation. In the early years, the project emphasized rural life and the negative impact of the Great Depression, farm mechanization, and the Dust Bowl. In later years, the photographers turned their attention to the mobilization effort for World War II. The core of the collection consists of about 164,000 black-and-white photographs. This release provides access to over 160,000 of these images; future additions will expand the black-and-white offering. The FSA-OWI photographers also produced about 1600 color photographs during the latter days of the project.

Photomuse

Thanks to the Internet and the World Wide Web, museums have an opportunity to serve audiences that do not have easy access to our buildings and collections. Photomuse.org is the online expression of a long-term alliance between George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film and the International Center of Photography (ICP).

Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs 1869-1960

The website for the Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860 - 1960 was created in order to increase access to the materials in the collection, which includes of 7,610 photographs, 230 glass lantern slides, and various other materials depicting life in Africa from 1860 - 1960. The original materials are housed in the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University, the largest separate library for the study of Africa in existence.

Smithsonian Images

Smithsonian Images is administered and maintained by Smithsonian Photographic Services, the main photographic office for the National Museum of American History Bering Center, National Museum of Natural History, and National Air and Space Museum. As such, the Office maintains an archive of over 2.5 million contemporary and historic images from these museums. This site offers the public an opportunity to research and purchase prints or digital files of these images.

William Gedney Photographs and Writings

The 50,000 item collection documents Gedney's work from the 1950s to 1989. Subjects include photographs of cross country road trips; rural New York; Manhattan; Brooklyn; rural Kentucky; Hippies in San Francisco; composers; gay rallies and demonstrations; St. Joseph’s School for the Deaf; India; England; Ireland; France; and, a large number of nocturnal pictures.

Reference Books

Contemporary photographers  REFERENCE TR139. CC664 1995

Dictionary of photography and digital imaging: The essential reference for the modern photographer REFERENCE TR9. A53    2002

Index to American photographic collections: Compiled at the International Museum of Photography REFERENCE TR12. E85 1996

Oxford companion tot he photograph  REFERENCE TR9. 094 2005

Photography books index lll: A subject guide to photo anthologies  REFERENCE TR199. M67 2006

 General Stacks

Dictionary of contemporary photography TR9 .S88

Encyclopedia of nineteenth-century photography  TR9 .H25 2008 V.1

Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography TR642 .E5 2006 V.1

Photography encyclopedia TR9 .M39 1999

 

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322