Skip to main content

High Museum of Art Power Users: African Art

High Museum of Art and the Emory University Libraries have a MOA that allows several HMA staff to have access to Emory resources for their research needs.

Getting Started

African Art Resource Pathfinder  created by the Edward P. Taylor Research Library

Country: People [Sub-group]

Cameroon: Bamileke, Bangwa, Bamum, Bemanda, Wum, Bafoussam

Gabon: Kota [Mahongwe]

Ivory Coast: Senufo, Yaure, We [Guerre], Baule

Mali: Djenne (also spelt Jenne), Lere, Bankoni, Dogon, Bozo, Bambara

Nigeria: Yoruba [Owo], Oron, Ekoi, Keaka,

Sierra Leone: Kissi

Sudan: Bongo

Zaire: Bembe, Punu, Songye, Luba, Wongo, Lwalwa, Hemba, Yambula, Chowke

General subject headings

Art, African Art,

African – Periodicals Art,

African – Exhibitions Art,

African – Bibliography Art,

African – 20th century – Bibliography Art,

Primitive – Africa

For exhibitions from a specific century, search in the following format:

Art, African – 20th century – Exhibitions

And for a specific decade in that century:

Art, African – 20th century (1990s) – Exhibitions

 

Media

To search by specific media look under subject headings such as:

Masks, African

Sculpture, African

Figure Sculpture, African

Bronzes, African

Drawing, African

Painting, African

Wood-carving – Africa

Terra-cotta sculpture – Africa

Architecture – Africa

Art by region/peoples

Art – Africa, West Art – Africa, Sub-Saharan

 

For specific peoples, search in the following format:

Kosova (African Peoples)

 

Miscellaneous

Art, African – Collectors and Collecting Art, African -- Expertising Art, African – Economic aspects

Art and Society – Africa Europeans in African Art

Mythology, African Africans – Folklore Icons – Africa



Databases

Anthropology Plus is a database for searching anthropological literature, Anthropology Plus combines two indexes: Anthropological LiteratureAnthropological Index from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute.

Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective Covers 404 art publications from around the world.


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes journals published in the fields of architecture, architectural history and design, archaeology, interior design, furniture and decoration, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and city planning.
ARTstor
The ARTstor database includes digital images representing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. 

JSTOR
Provides searchable full-text access to back files of key scholarly journals in many fields-
Archaeology, Architecture & Architectural History. Art & Art History and Classical Studies

Bibliography of the History of Art (NOW IBA-International Bibliography of Art)
Covering European art from post-classical times to the present and American art from post-Columbian times to the present

Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.

Project Muse
Provides networked access to the full text of more than 150 scholarly journals, including important historical journals. Coverage is from the mid-nineties to the present.

Web Sites

African Art: Art History Resources on the Web.  Chris Witcombe, Sweet Briar College, VA.

Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources. Stanford University. An annotated directory of resources browsable by countries and by topics; also searchable. Developed by the Electronic Technology Group of the African Studies Association (USA).

African Art on the Web.  Warren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian.  Selected links.

African Diaspora Archaeology Network ("ADAN"). University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

African Studies Internet Resources. Columbia University Libraries, New York City

Africana Collections: An Illustrated Guide.  African and Middle Eastern Reading Room, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.  See also:  African Peoples' Encounters with Others.

ASC: African Studies Centre. Leiden, The Netherlands.

Art and Artists Files in the Smithsonian Libraries Collections. Emerging regional and local artists. Browse by artist last name or country.

AfricaBib.org,  19th century--.
University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Institute for Economic Advancement (IEA). This site consists of three bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature in English:
                  Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database 
                  African Women's Bibliographic Database 
                  Women Travelers, Explorers, and Missionaries to Africa (1763-2006)

Africa Remix: Contemporary Art of a Continent. (See also: Africa Remix: Contemporary Art of a Continent,  ed. Simon Njami, 2005. N7380.5 .S56 2005

Arte contemporanea africana: exhibitions by country. Iolanda Pensa.

Contemporary African Art Collection (CAACART). The Contemporary African Art Collection (CAAC) is a private collection created by Jean Pigozzi.

Imagery in African Art. National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian, Washington, D.C.

Reference

Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art)
 Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography).  Africa entry includes: I. Introduction. II. Art and aesthetics. III. Contexts of production and use. IV. Imagery and iconography. V. Materials and techniques. VI. Art forms. VII. Regions. VIII. Diaspora. IX. Contemporary developments. X. Forgery. XI. Historiography. XII. Museums. XIII. Exhibitions. XIV. Collectors and dealers.  XV. Art libraries and photographic collections.

Contemporary African Art. Sidney Littlefield Kasfir. 1999

Contemporary Art of Africa. Andre Magnin, ed., 1996.

New Currents, Ancient Rivers: Contemporary African Artists in a Generation of Change.  Jean Kennedy, 1992

Africa: an Encyclopedia for Students. John Middleton, ed., 2002


Modern African Art: A Basic Reading List.  Warren M. Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution.  Compiled since 1995 and updated continuously.  Includes surveys, texts, and exhibition catalogs. Searchable by region and country.

Africana Collections: An Illustrated Guide.  African and Middle Eastern Reading Room, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.  See also:  African Peoples' Encounters with Others.

Art and Artists Files in the Smithsonian Libraries Collections. Emerging regional and local artists. Browse by artist last name or country.

Africa Maps. Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, University of Texas at Austin.

Maps of Africa, from Art and Life in Africa. University of Iowa, Iowa City.
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322