Skip to main content

AAS/ARTHIST 389 Art of the Harlem Renaissance: Research Tools

Explore the Harlem Renaissance (ca. 1920-1935), also known as the New Negro period, when African, African American, and African Diaspora subject matter and artists emerged embodying an new aesthetic and a new area of interest in modern culture.

DATABASES

Databases that provide info. about journal articles

All Emory databases can be found at the DATBASES@Emory page, use the drop-down menu to find databases in your field.

African American Biographical Database
Biographical information, including photographs and illustrations. AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.

Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective Covers 404 art publications from around the world.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts international selection of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on art from 1850-present.

ARTstor
The ARTstor database includes digital images representing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture. 

Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP) and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips

JSTOR
The Journal Storage Project provides full text access to the back files of many core academic journals.

MLA International Bibliography: a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association.  The electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains many citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers.

America History and Life [EBSCOhost]
Description: Indexes journals, book reviews, and dissertations for American history and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index The Arts & Humanities Citation Index(A&HCI), part of Web of Science, includes subjects such as Archaeology, Linguistics, Architecture, Literary Reviews, Art, Literature, Asian Studies, Music, Classics, Philosophy, Dance, Poetry, Film, History, Religion, Language, and Theater.

Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Project Muse
Provides networked access to the full text of more than 150 scholarly journals, including important historical journals. Coverage is from the mid-nineties to the present.

Web Sites

  • Harlem Renaissance Resources  Rating
    This guide presents the Library of Congress resources as well as links to external websites on the Harlem Renaissance and a bibliography.
  • Rhapsodies in Black: Art of the Harlem Renaissance  Rating
    The collection combines sculptures, photographs and paintings with archival film, sound recordings and commentary by leading scholars.
  • The Harlem Renaissance  Rating
    The Harlem Renaissance has sections on education, religion, political issues, and literature.
  • Brief Guide to the Harlem Renaissance  Rating
    The Academy of American Poets website offers a variety of biographies and essays on the poets and poetry of the Harlem Renaissance.
  • Perspectives in American Literature: Harlem Renaissance  Rating
    Excellent biographical and bibliographic information on many of the Harlem Renaissance's foremost personalities. The detailed chronology and important feature sections of this site provide a solid overview of the social and political issues during this period.
  • The Black Renaissance in Washington D.C., 1920-1930's  Rating
    Biographies of notables of the Harlem Renaissance, book lists, timeline and related links. (from Infomine website--Scholarly Internet Resource Collections)
  • Harlem, Mecca of the New Negro  Rating
    A special March, 1925, issue of Survey Graphic--the premier journal of social work in America in the 1920's.
    This special issue was devoted to the African-American "Renaissance" that was then underway in Harlem. (from Infomine website--Scholarly Internet Resource Collections)
  • Literary Resources--American  Rating
    Well-chosen links and websites of American literature, it's movements, and its authors. Several websites deal with Harlem Renaissance writers and overviews.

Subject Guide

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322