Skip to main content

AAS/ARTHIST 389 Art of the Harlem Renaissance: MARBL

Explore the Harlem Renaissance (ca. 1920-1935), also known as the New Negro period, when African, African American, and African Diaspora subject matter and artists emerged embodying an new aesthetic and a new area of interest in modern culture.

Jan 31st MARBL show and tell

Click here to see all the material Randall Burkett showed during our library session

Randall K. Burkett,   Curator of African American Collections
Manuscript, Archives, & Rare Book Library
Emory University
Atlanta, GA 30322
voice:  404-727-0129
fax:  404-727-0360

About Rose Library

Visit Rose Library's website

Emory University's Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library (Rose Library) holds over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Its renowned collections span more than 800 years of human history—with a special focus on modern literature, African American history, and the history of Georgia and the South. Everyone is welcome to use Rose Library collections: students, scholars, visiting researchers, and the general public.

 

African American History and Culture Manuscript Collections

This section contains a list of Rose Library manuscript collections that relate to African American History and Culture.

The summaries listed here do not give the full contents of each collection. To learn more about a specific collection and its contents, please search our Finding Aids Database.

Please note that not all manuscript collections are housed in Rose Library. Some collections are located at an off-site storage facility and must be requested in advance. In addition, some collections have access restrictions. Researchers are encouraged to contact Rose Library to ensure that materials will be available. We are also happy to pull materials in advance of a research visit.

Revised editions of this guide will be forthcoming as new collections are accessioned and as material in existing collections is located and identified.

Manuscript Collections:
A-B |C-F
| G-L | M-R | S-Z
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322