Skip to main content

PHIL100 Basic Problems in Philosophy: DATABASES

This course surveys basic problems in philosophy, such as questions concerning truth, knowledge, justice, beauty, and the good.

Welcome!

Welcome the Databases page. This page directs you to several different databases that will help you search for scholarly journals and articles in the Philososphy.

Search Google Scholar

Philosophy Databases: Bibliographic

Philosophy Databases: Journals and Texts

Philosophy Databases: Writings

Scholarly Journals and Evaluating Resources

Scholarly journals review submitted articles before they are published. Many professors require students to use scholarly journal articles as resources when writing research papers. Here are tips on locating scholarly journal articles and evaluating sources.

Searching For Articles In discoverE

In discoverE you can search some of our databases for articles.

When you first open discoverE, it defaults to using the Catalog tab. You should choose the Combined tab, which is the third from the left:

  1. Enter your search terms.
  2. Use discoverE's 'Refine Search Results' feature (in the left column) to limit your search to articles and by topic, author, and date.
  3. Click on the "Full Text Available' link if there is one. You should also click on the "No Full Text" links; some of them will lead to a full-text online copy.
  4. If it's not available online, follow these directions.
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322