Skip to main content

Course Guide to CHN 190: MIND AND BODY IN CHINA: Finding Journal Articles

This Course Guide is created for the freshmen seminar class: MIND AND BODY IN CHINA. It gathers library resources related to the subjects taught in this class and aims to help students with their research project and class papers.

Searching E-Journals

 

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed persiodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to some E-Journals.  You can read e-journals from E-Journal site at the Library's website.  Here are several E-journals that are related to your class:

 

1.  Advances in mind-body medicine

 

2.  The Journal of Mind-Body Regulation

 

3.  Mind/body medicine

 

4.  Journal of Contemporary China

 

5.  Modern China Studies

 

6.  Journal of Chinese Philosophy

 

7.  Journal of Chinese Religion

 

Searching On-Line Databases

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databases, some of them cover the journal articles in the subject area of Chinese Studies, they are: 

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Humanities International complete

 

Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. HIC includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text for more than 770 journals.

 

Religion and Philosophy collection

 
The Religion & Philosophy Collection is a database with more than 243 full-text journals. It covers topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.

 

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322