European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
The EBRD is an international financial institution that focuses on promoting economic liberalization and transition towards a market economy, with a geographic focus on post-communist countries in Central/Eastern Europe and Central Asia. The EBRD distributes data on various macroeconomic indicators and forecasts, including data on measures of structural economic change and transitions towards market economies.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Balance of Payments Statistics
The Balance of Payments Statistics, which is part of the IMF's eLibrary of databases, contains detailed data on countries' international economic transactions in their current accounts, capital accounts, and financial accounts. Topics covered include trade in goods and services, foreign direct investment, portfolio investment, and holdings of reserve assets. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory and on CD-ROM in the Data Center.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) International Financial Statistics
The International Financial Statistics, which is part of the IMF's eLibrary of databases, is a standard source for macroeconomic data, with a focus on monetary and financial topics, both international and domestic. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory and via CD-ROM in the Data Center.
United Nations Commodity Statistics Trade Database (Comtrade)
The UN's Comtrade database is a good source for commodity-specific bilateral trade data. Users can create their own extracts of data for both value and quantity of trade using different industrial classification codes and download those extracts for later use. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory.
United Nations Service Trade Statistics Database
The UN's Service Trade Database is similar to Comtrade in that it provides bilateral data on trade between countries. While Comtrade focuses on trade in specific products and commodities, the Services Trade Database focuses on trade in services. As with Comtrade, users can create their own extracts of data and download those extracts for later use. Registration is required to access the database, but that registration is free.
International Labour Organization Statistics and Databases
The ILO hosts numerous collections of statistical information and databases on labour markets and related indicators. LABORSTA is the ILO's flagship statistical database and provides data on topics such as unemployment, wages, and hours of work. The Key Indicators of the Labour Market (KILM) database, meanwhile, "is a collection of 20 key indicators of the labour market, ranging from employment and variables relating to employment ... to education, wages and compensation costs, labour productivity and working poverty. The other databases provide information on national legislation and standards in particular areas, such as the EPLex Employment protection legislation database. Also note that the ILO has a guide for how to find labour statistics.
Labour Market Regulations Index (LMRI)
The Labour Market Regulations Index, which was compiled by Yilmaz Kilicaslan and Erol Taymaz, is "a proxy for the degree of labor market regulation. The proposed index ... is not a direct index but an approximation and based on the number of laws and regulations on 100 different subjects adopted by governments. It includes the annual data for 44 countries from 1960 to 2000."
Total Economy Database (TED)
The Total Economy Database is a collection of selected measures of macroeconomic output, including labour-related measures such productivity, hours worked, and labour share in national income.
Quality of Government (QOG) Institute
The QOG Institute is hosted by members of the Department of Political Science at Göteborg University in Sweden and is devoted to "the causes, consequences and nature of 'good governance.'" The Institute has created three collections of data on governance: a broad collection of governance indicators that is global in coverage; a more narrow collection that focuses on social policy in wealthier countries; and data from expert surveys on politicization and professionalization of public administration in individual countries. The data are compiled from multiple sources, including the Polity IV Project, the Cingarelli-Richards Human Rights Data, Transparency International, Freedom House, various international organizations, and datasets produced by various academics. The QoG data are available in SPSS, Stata, and comma-delimited (.csv) formats.
World Bank Goverance Data
The World Bank hosts a website devoted to data on governance and institutional quality and their relevance for economic development and performance. Of particular interest may be the Worldwide Governance Indicators and the firm-level surveys such as the World Business Environment Surveys (WBES data are also available from the International Finance Corporation) and the Enterprise Surveys. In addition to the main data page, the Bank also has a web inventory of data pertaining to institutional quality.
The Latinobarómetro is an annual survey conducted amongst 18 countries in Latin America. The survey, which has been conducted since 1995, asks respondents about topics such as globalization, democratic governance and political institutions, "social capital," the environment, and gender issues. The Data Center has microdata files for this survey from 1995 onwards.
World Values Surveys Series
The World Values Survey is "a worldwide investigation of sociocultural and political change. It is conducted by a network of social scientist at leading universities all around world. The survey is performed on nationally representative samples in almost 80 societies on all six inhabited continents." It is an excellent source for cross-national survey data and is a widely-referenced resource. The Data Center has data from four "waves" of the World Values Survey available here.
EDStats - The World Bank Education Statistics Database
EDStats is a World Bank site with much data on education, both via tables and databases. The Data Query System may be of particular interest for time-series data.
PovertyNet: Data on Poverty
PovertyNet has brought together a variety of datasets pertaining to the study of poverty, income inequality, and income distribution, along with other resources relevant for international development and economics. The many potentially-useful resources listed within this site include the World Income Inequality Database and PovcalNet. Be warned - the World Bank tends to change addresses for websites without warning.
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The Global Health Observatory is a great source of data on numerous international/cross-national health-related topics. The site also contains many links to other sources of cross-national health data, such as the GHO Data Repository.
World Population Prospects
This database is produced by the United Nations' Population Division and contains cross-national data on basic population demographics and vital statistics (e.g. birth and death rates, maternal mortality, population by age and gender and urban/rural areas, median age of population). Data are available in five-year increments back to 1950 and with projections up to 2050.