European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
The EBRD is an international financial institution that focuses on promoting economic liberalization and transition towards a market economy, with a geographic focus on post-communist countries in Central/Eastern Europe and Central Asia. The EBRD distributes data on various macroeconomic indicators and forecasts, including data on measures of structural economic change and transitions towards market economies.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Balance of Payments Statistics
The Balance of Payments Statistics, which is part of the IMF's eLibrary of databases, contains detailed data on countries' international economic transactions in their current accounts, capital accounts, and financial accounts. Topics covered include trade in goods and services, foreign direct investment, portfolio investment, and holdings of reserve assets. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory and on CD-ROM in the Data Center.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) International Financial Statistics
The International Financial Statistics, which is part of the IMF's eLibrary of databases, is a standard source for macroeconomic data, with a focus on monetary and financial topics, both international and domestic. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory and via CD-ROM in the Data Center.
United Nations Commodity Statistics Trade Database (Comtrade)
The UN's Comtrade database is a good source for commodity-specific bilateral trade data. Users can create their own extracts of data for both value and quantity of trade using different industrial classification codes and download those extracts for later use. This resource is also available via Databases at Emory.
United Nations Service Trade Statistics Database
The UN's Service Trade Database is similar to Comtrade in that it provides bilateral data on trade between countries. While Comtrade focuses on trade in specific products and commodities, the Services Trade Database focuses on trade in services. As with Comtrade, users can create their own extracts of data and download those extracts for later use. Registration is required to access the database, but that registration is free.