Skip to main content

Electronic Data Center: Selected Data Resources for Labour and Development (POLS 385-006): Labour Market Indicators

Labour Market Indicators

International Labour Organization Statistics and Databases
http://www.ilo.org/global/statistics-and-databases/lang--en/index.htm
The ILO hosts numerous collections of statistical information and databases on labour markets and related indicators. LABORSTA is the ILO's flagship statistical database and provides data on topics such as unemployment, wages, and hours of work. The Key Indicators of the Labour Market (KILM) database, meanwhile, "is a collection of 20 key indicators of the labour market, ranging from employment and variables relating to employment ... to education, wages and compensation costs, labour productivity and working poverty. The other databases provide information on national legislation and standards in particular areas, such as the EPLex Employment protection legislation database. Also note that the ILO has a guide for how to find labour statistics.

Labour Market Regulations Index (LMRI)
http://www.metu.edu.tr/~etaymaz/lmri/
The Labour Market Regulations Index, which was compiled by Yilmaz Kilicaslan and Erol Taymaz, is "a proxy for the degree of labor market regulation. The proposed index ... is not a direct index but an approximation and based on the number of laws and regulations on 100 different subjects adopted by governments. It includes the annual data for 44 countries from 1960 to 2000."

Total Economy Database (TED)
http://www.conference-board.org/data/economydatabase/
The Total Economy Database is a collection of selected measures of macroeconomic output, including labour-related measures such productivity, hours worked, and labour share in national income.

Data Services

Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D's picture
Robert O'Reilly, Ph.D
Contact:
404-727-6129 (P)

roreill@emory.edu

Emory Center for Digital Scholarship (ECDS)

Woodruff Library, 3rd Floor

ECDS Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00AM-5:00PM

We help researchers with locating quantitative data and with cleaning and preparing data for analysis.
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322