Skip to main content

COURSE GUIDE TO CHN 404: Contemporary Chinese Fiction in the Original: Finding Journal Articles

This Guide is created for the class of CHN 404: Contemporary Chinese Literature. It includes research methods for finding related books, journals and other resources for class papers and projects.

Chinese Literature Journals in the Library

Our library subscribes Chinese literature journals from China.  The current issues are displayed in Matheson Reading Room.

Here are some titles for your reference:

1. 人民文学

2. 当代

3. 十月

4. 小说月刊

5. 小说家

6. 花城

7. 传记文学

...

Related E-Journal

Woodruff Library subscribes to thousands of periodicals (scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers). For the most part the contents of these periodicals are NOT FREELY AVAILABLE ON THE INTERNET.  All the current printed periodicals are in the Matheson Reading Room.  The Library also subscribes to quite a lot E-Journals, simply click the E-Journals site above or at the Library's website, you can read the journals on your computer.  Here are several E-journals related to your class:

 

Chinese literature

Journal of Modern Literature in Chinese

Chinese Literature Today

China Media Report Overseas

Related On-line Databases

 

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databses, some of them cover the journal atricles in the subject area of Chinese Studies, they are: 

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

This database coveres bibliographic information of western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

The library also subscribed two Chinese full-text databases, they are China Academic Journals and China Core Newspaper Database.

China Academic Journals 中国学术杂志库

This full text journal article database contains more than 8,200 journal titles, covering the period of time from 1994 to the present.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

China Core Newspaper Database 中国主要报纸数据库

CCND selects core newspaper articles published in mainland China since 2000, the sources are from 1,000 publicly issued newspapers in mainland China.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

Duxiu 读秀

Duxiu is an aggregated search engine created by SuperStar Digital Library. The Duxiu database provides access to more than 3 million Chinese bibliographic entries and 2 million full text scholarly resources in all subjects and formats, such as books, journal articles, conference papers and video clips.

Pressdisplay

Library PressDisplay provides instant online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. The ever-expanding collection currently includes more than 1,200 U.S. and international titles—from 94 countries in 48 languages. Just like reading the familiar print edition, viewers can browse articles and other key content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices. The service also provides up to a 60-day backfile and the ability to perform keyword searches across all titles and the entire backfile.

Among them there are 17 newspapers either in Chinese or English on China.

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322