Skip to main content

Jazz Research Guide: Articles

Steps for Finding Articles

Look for article citations in these places:

  • the databases on this page.
  • bibliographies and footnotes in literature you already have.

Find out if the article is available at Emory:

  • Look up the journal title in discoverE.
    • Specify Journals in the drop-down box and type in the journal title—not the title of the article.
    • When you find a journal, check whether Emory has the specific volume or year you need.

  • The Find-it-at-Emory buttons can simplify your search, but they can give false negatives.  Check the journal title in discoverE to be sure.

  • Consider how useful the article may be to you.  Is it from a scholarly or popular source?  How long is it?

If Emory doesn't have the article you want,

  • Request it through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Expect to wait at least two weeks for delivery.
  • Most articles are provided free to students.

Music Databases

These databases offer in-depth coverage of music.

International Index to Music Periodicals  (Start with this.)
Indexes articles in more than 430 music journals from about 20 countries; selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for selected titles indexed in their entirety.  To limit results to articles in English and/or exclude reviews, use the Advanced Search
Truncation symbol: *.  Wildcard: ? (Use to replace any single character.  May be repeated.)

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
A comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, RILM Abstracts covers all literature about music, not just journal articles. Entries include abstracts in English. Coverage begins with 1967. Truncation symbol: *. Wildcard: ? for one character, * for multiple characters.

Music Index Online
Indexes articles in more than 700 music periodicals and selectively indexes journals in related fields. Coverage begins with 1979.  Truncation and Wildcard symbol: *.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Extend your search beyond the sphere of music publications.

Google Scholar
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines.  Try the "Advanced Scholar Search" to focus your search.  Be aware that the links to Emory content sometimes yield false negatives.  Always search EUCLID before you conclude that Emory doesn't own the cited source.

Academic Search Complete
A large multidisciplinary database offering full text of over 5000 periodicals.  Also indexes and abstracts other types of publications.  Coverage dates vary, with some content going as far back as 1865.

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project)
A multidisciplinary collection of journals in digitized form.  Not current—for any journal, coverage begins with vol. 1 but lacks the most recent 2-5 years, by agreement with the journal's publisher.

Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of U.S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses.  Includes indexes for both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) content.

LexisNexis Academic
A key source for newspaper articles (1980- ).  Full-text access to news, business, educational, medical and legal sources.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322