Skip to main content

Digital Art History: Digitizing

Inspired by the report, Transitioning to a Digital World: Art History, Its Research Centers, and Digital Scholarship, by Diane M. Zorich for the Kress Foundation and CHMN

Getty Research Portal

The Getty Research Portal (GRI) is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts in the public domain. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts held at contributing institutions.

Other Discipline specific

Hathi Trust

The HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to bring together their immense collections in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today and in future generations.

Go to the HathiTrust Digital Library Website

Search the Combined Search Tab in Emory's discoverE to inlcude Hathi Trust records in your results.

Future of Art Bibliography Initiative

Librarians, scholars, publishers, and information technologists have gathered to participate in an international community-driven initiative  Future of Art Bibliography (FAB) Initiative.  FAB is currently in the  planning, demonstration, and advocacy phase -Toronto (ARLIS)...excerpts below

What do we want and what do we need in terms of a collective 21st century bibliographic tool?

How can we build upon existing resources in art bibliography to create more of a collaborative and international effort?

Bring togther digitized content (e.g. GRI portal), bibliographic (e.g. artlibraries.net) and web content (e.g. 

Avery & Frick web archiving pilot projects.)


The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.

Artlibraries.net

artlibraries.net – Virtual Catalogue for Art History,  is an international  specialized meta catalogue allowing the integrated retrieval of bibliographic records, including a high percentage of records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc., and an increasing percentage of records for archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources. 

ART eBooks

Beyond the Printed Page: Museum Digital Publishing Bliki
 http://digitalpublishingbliki.com and under
the Twitter hashtag #digpublishing.

The site is moderated by Liz Neely and Amy Weber of the
Art Institute of Chicago

Europeana

Europeana aggregates digitised books, paintings, photographs, recordings and films from over 2,200 contributing cultural heritage organisations across Europe - including major national bodies such as the British Library, the Louvre and the Rijksmuseum.

The DM2E project will soon be launching a series of scholarships to encourage innovative digital humanities projects building on the Europeana data

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322