Skip to main content

La France Contemporaine: Histoires des Familles: Finding books and articles

Using Databases to Find Articles

Databases like JSTOR, LexisNexis, and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries pay for access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a complete listing. For help with searching databases, see our Finding Articles at Woodruff research guide.

Access from off-campus is available only to current Emory University students, faculty and staff, and requires an Emory Network ID and password.

Searching For Books In discoverE

From the Catalog tab in discoverE:

  • Type in your keywords
  • When you get some results, use "Refine Search Results" on the left to narrow your search by author, item type, date and more.

Too many search results?

  • Add additional terms to your search
  • Limit your search by item type, exact phrase, and/or author/title/subject using discoverE's drop-down menus
  • Use discoverE's "Refine Search Results" feature (in the left column) 

Too few results?

  • Remove some terms from your search
  • Add synonyms using OR [in upper case] with parentheses - for example (women OR woman OR female)

Off-topic results?

Consult the discoverE help page for further tips.

Databases

Historical Abstracts

Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

MLA International Bibliography

Produced by the Modern Language Association, this database indexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.

FRANCIS

Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics, and is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. FRANCIS is produced by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST) and is searchable in English and French.

JSTOR

 JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of key scholarly journals in the arts, the humanities, literature, the sciences, the social sciences, and selected scholarly journals in related disciplines such as business, ecology, botany, music, and statistics. JSTOR represents the building blocks of a truly interdisciplinary scholarly journal archive.

Project Muse

Provides access to scholarly journals published by major university presses. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus

Publisher description: "[I]ndexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections." Includes full text access to selected journals.

Ciné-ressources

Le 22 août 2007, la Cinémathèque met en ligne le premier catalogue collectif des bibliothèques et archives de cinéma, Ciné-Ressources, concrétisant ainsi un effort de près de dix ans des institutions patrimoniales françaises en matière de cinéma.

Social Sciences Abstracts
A bibliographic database that indexes journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.

Note: This is a very small sampling for the more than 400 databases available to Emory students. If you need to explore other database options, please visit our Databases@Emory page here.

Subject Guide

Chella Vaidyanathan's picture
Chella Vaidyanathan
Contact:
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
540 Asbury Circle
404-727-5049
Website / Blog Page
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322