Skip to main content

The ARTHIST 329 Reconstructing Ancient Rome guide (Fall 2012): Getting Started

This course will consider the history and topography of Ancient Rome by investigating monuments on Pirro Ligorio's Anteiquae Urbis Imago map of 1561

Finding Books at Emory

Use discoverE (Catalog tab -- the default) to search holdings/collections in the Emory Libraries. 

What if Emory doesn't have the book I need?  Request it through Interlibrary Loan 

DiscoverE help tutotial videos inlcude:

Use discoverE to Find a Journal Article from a Citation
Searching discoverE by Title
Use discoverE to Refine a Subject Search
Use discoverE to Refine Your Search Results
Searching discoverE by Date
Keep Track of Your Research with discoverE's e-Shelf
How to Use discoverE to Check Your Account and Renew Books
Use discoverE to Request an Item from Storage
Use discoverE to Recall a Checked Out Item

WorldCat

To search the holdings of other libraries, use WorldCat.

If you find an item you want, click on the button to go to discoverE (for a local Emory call number) or to the ILLIAD link for a prepopulated interlibrary loan request form.

Art History Guides

D’Alleva, Anne.  How to write art history.  London, Laurence King Pub., 2006.   N380 .D354 2006

Barnet, Sylvan.  A short guide to writing about art. 10th ed.  Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Pearson, 2011. N7476 .B37 2011

Sayre, Henry M.  Writing about art.  5th ed.  Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, 2006.  N7476 .S29 2006

Reference (Finding Background Information)

Credo Reference   Credo Ready-Reference services feature full-text, aggregated content from hundreds of reference books

Brill's New Pauly : encyclopaedia of the ancient world
REFERENCE DE5 .B7 2002 (4 vols.)
English translation of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, an update of the academic standard Paulys Real-encyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft. This interdisciplinary work provides easy, direct access to names, places, dates, and objects from all areas of Greek and Roman culture.

The Oxford classical dictionary, soon to be part of Oxford Reference Online
REF-DESK DE5 .O9 1996
Covers interdisciplinary concepts in the classical world such as law, history, art and literature, put together by an international team of contributors.

Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art)
 Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography, as well as digital images of the most frequently studied works of art).  Don't forget to review the helpful bibliographies at the end of the signed Grove entries.

The Oxford Companion to Archaeology. Brian M. Fagan, ed., Oxford University Press 1996. REFERENCE CC70 .O96 1996 or Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.

 

Getting Started

Steps in the Research Process

  • STEP 1: Formulate your question
  • STEP 2: Get background information (see REFERENCE Box below)
  • STEP 3: Refine your search topic
  • STEP 4: Consider your resource options
  • STEP 5: Select and use the appropriate tool, Books (discoverE), databases, etc. 
  • STEP 6: Locate your materials
  • STEP 7: Analyze your materials
  • STEP 8: Organize and write
  • STEP 9: Cite your work/Compose your bibliography

Ligorio's Contemporaries

Flavio Biondo

Leonardo Bufalini

Nicholas V

Francesco di Giorgio

Fulvio Orsini

Sallustio Peruzzi

Vincenzo Scamozzi's

Michele Tramezzino

 

Secondary Sources

Coffin, David R. Pirro Ligorio: The Renaissance Artist, Architect, and Antiquarian : with a Checklist of Drawings. University Park, Pa: Pennsylvania State University Press, 2004.

Gaston, Robert W. Pirro Ligorio: Artist and Antiquarian. Milano: Silvana, 1988.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322