Skip to main content

The ARTHIST 329 Reconstructing Ancient Rome guide (Fall 2012): Research Tools

This course will consider the history and topography of Ancient Rome by investigating monuments on Pirro Ligorio's Anteiquae Urbis Imago map of 1561

Images

  • ARTstor is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data.
  • Emory' s Digital Image Gallery:  Login at http://www.digitalgallery.emory.edu using your Emory NETID and password.                      

AJA Abbreviations

AJA Abbreviations

The AJA uses the following list of abbreviations of journals, series, and books

Web sites

  • Emory University Department of Classics Links
    Contains links to all the major sites of interest to classical historians.
  • Bryn Mawr Classical Review
    Publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies. This site is the authoritative archive of BMCR's publication, from 1990 to the present
  • Diotima
    Material for the study of women and gender in the ancient world
  • Perseus Digital Library
    Perseus is an evolving digital library with a goal to bring a wide range of source materials to a large audience. The collection contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images.

Databases

  • Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective
    1929 to the present

    Covers 404 art publications from around the world. Subjects include: archaeology, architecture, and art.
  • L'Année Philologique
    An international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and Roman studies. The database covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science, numismatics, and other subjects. Its scope is the period from 2000 BCE to CE 800.
  • ARTstor (see images)
  • DYABOLA Coverage: 1956-present (be sure to click IP access box)
    Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews. This database reproduces the subject catalog of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut and is equivalent to the annual Archaoligische Bibliographie (Woodruff Library Z5132 .A65). It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion
  • JSTOR
    Provides searchable full-text access to back files of key scholarly journals in many fields-
    Archaeology, Architecture & Architectural History. Art & Art History and Classical Studies

Vocabulary & Thesaurii


The Getty Institute's Getty Vocabulary Program has created databases and thesuari to help find information on artists, fine art terms, and geographic locations.

The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)

The ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing around 120,000 records, including 293,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.

The Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)

The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

The Getty Thesuarus of Geographic Names (TGN)
The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 912,000 records, including 1.1 million names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322