Skip to main content

The ARTHIST 329 Reconstructing Ancient Rome guide (Fall 2012): Uploading Images

This course will consider the history and topography of Ancient Rome by investigating monuments on Pirro Ligorio's Anteiquae Urbis Imago map of 1561

Flickr

Image Search Engines

Google Images is a quick and easy way to find lots of images from web pages across the globe. But it only searches web content that it can find -- many images are actually hidden in databases or galleries. The quality of images - size, resolution, description, usage rights - also varies considerably on the open web. Use Google, but don't rely on it for all image searches. Explore this page and image databases for more high-quality options.

  • Google Image Search  Tip: Use advanced search or facets to limit by image size, images within a domain/site (e.g. site: emory.edu), and usage rights.
  • Google  Use Google's web search to find hidden image collections. Search example:  KEYWORD ("image archive" OR "image gallery" OR "image collection" OR "image database")
  • PicSearch
  • Bing
  • Exalead

INSTRUCTIONS for uploading your images

FINDING YOUR IMAGE:

  • MARBL or Carlos Museum items - CLEAR with attribution
  • FLICKR - Search Flickr with Advanced Search with creative commons license restricted
  • ARTSTOR--CLEAR with IAP,   All other images will require permission from copyright holder.  

                   Illustrated Bartsch (permissions pending from ABARIS Books.)

NOT ALL Illustrated Bartsch IMAGES are included in ARTstor, see also print version: NE90 .B213  Strauss, Walter L., and Adam von Bartsch. 1978. The illustrated Bartsch. New York: Abaris Books.

  • COINS -

 

 

 

 

Image Databases@Emory

LUNA (http://www.digitalgallery.emory.edu/luna/servlet)

You must LOGIN to get most material...Use CARLOS and MARBL images first

ARTSTOR  (http://pid.emory.edu/rw84x)

Only IAP images are free and clear of permissions (use IAP in search to refine)

Creative Commons

Creative Commons "provides free tools that let authors, scientists, artists, and educators easily mark their creative work with the freedoms they want it to carry." You can use CC to change your copyright terms from "All Rights Reserved" to "Some Rights Reserved."

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322