Skip to main content

Writing Center Tutors Guide: Find Articles & Get Full Text

This guide addresses common questions of undergraduate tutors for the Emory Writing Center. Use this page as a resource for you and your tutees.

Strategies for finding Articles

1. Use a database. Emory has access to hundreds of databases, each of which search through different journals. Go to a database directly from the databases @ Emory page.

A Few Databases To Get Started


2. Use the Combined Search tab in discoverE.

You will actually be searching both books and articles in this tab. You will be searching the library catalog PLUS some of the databases we subscribe to, PLUS additional resources. See the Resources in DiscoverE research guide for details.


3. Try Google Scholar.

Four Ways to Get the Full text of an Article from a Database Search

When you are searching for an article in a library database and you want to get the fulltext of the article, there are 4 possible scenarios you could face.

Scenario 1: The fulltext is available in the database you are searching. EASY! (click to view)

Scenario 2: The "Find it @ Emory" button leads you to the fulltext in another database. There are two steps in this process. (Click to view)

Scenario 3: The "Find it @ Emory" button does not lead to the fulltext, but we have the article in the print copy of the journal in the library stacks. There are 4 steps in this process. (PDF file)

Scenario 4: We do not have the article online or in print but you can order it using Interlibrary Loan. There are a number of steps to this process. (PDF file)

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322