Skip to main content

Evolutionary Medicine (ANT 334)

Howard Chiou, Dr. Melvin Konner, Spring 2013

International Statistics

Health, Nutrition, and Population Statistics (HNPStats)--HNPStats is a World Bank site with much international/comparative time-series data on health indicators, as well as on various economic and demographic/population measures. Bulk downloads of HNPStats data are available at http://data.worldbank.org/data-catalog/health-nutrition-and-population-statistics.

Human Mortality Database (HMD)--The HMD (which requires a free registration) contains data tables with age and gender breakdowns for mortality and life expectancy in many countries (largely from the OECD). The site also provides links to related external sites.

Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)--The Social Science Electronic Data Library is an archive of over 300 datasets covering a variety of topic areas such as Adolescent Pregnancy, Aging, AIDS/STD's, the American Family, Disability in the US, and Maternal Drug Abuse. The archive is well-indexed and allows variable-level searches. Some of the studies are also available on CD's in the Data Center. The SSEDL is also accessible via Databases at Emory.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)--SAMHDA, which is hosted by the ICPSR, provides "ready access to substance abuse and mental health research data." The archive contains data for survey series such as the National Survey on Drug Use and Health and Monitoring the Future: A Continuing Study of the Lifestyles And Values Of Youth.

World Health Organization Mortality Database--The WHO's Mortality Database provides aggregated mortality counts and cause-of-death statistics and (very large) raw data files for more advanced analysis.

WHO's Global Health Observatory WHO portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation -- links to all kinds of data and statistics from countries around the world.

WHO's "Links to National Health-related Websites" lists links to other countries' national health info/stats.

US Statistics

Cancer Statistics Review (CSR)--This site is hosted by the National Cancer Institute. The Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results database (SEER) allows access to numerous cancer statistics and databases as well as to some limited online analysis.

CDC The website for the CDC includes a section devoted to data and statistics at both the national and state levels. The CDC's A-Z topic index is also useful for locating quantitative information on particular topics.

CDC Wonder is a portal to numerous studies concerning health-related topics such as AIDS/STDs, risk behaviors (the Behavioral Risk Surveillance System), mortality and natality statistics. There are several online data tools as well as a link to the SEER database.

NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics, a part of the CDC) The three links below are some of the more useful links on the NCHS site:

  • FASTSTATS A to Z (stats by subject and by state)
  • Surveys and Data Collection Systems (ongoing/periodic suverys etc. collected by NCHS)
  • NHIS Survey (National Health Interview Survey) is the principal source of information on the health of the civilian noninstitutionalized population of the United States and is one of the major data collection programs of the NCHS.

National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)--The NSFG is an on-going survey series focusing on matters of family history and reproductive history (e.g. marital history, childbirth, usage of contraceptives) as well as more general matters such as employment history and demographics. The latest wave of the NSFG is also available on CD-ROM in the Data Center. Older waves are also available via the Social Science Electronic Data Library and in harmonized form via the Integrated Fertility Survey Series.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322