Skip to main content

Political Science 385/African American Studies 385: New Black Political Leadership: Scholarly Article Databases

Key Databases

The principal database for political science research is:

Political Science Complete

 Political Science Complete contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals). The database also features 330 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 35,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association. PSC includes a subject-specific thesaurus with 10,453 terms to provide subject searching guidance to researchers.

 

 

Political Science Complete Search

Academic Search Complete  (1984-present for indexing and abstracts, 1990-present for full text, some publications 1960s and 1970s are included.)
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.
PAIS International (1915-present)
Includes bibliographic records from the literature of public policy, social policy and the social sciences from 1915-present. Be sure to choose both the archive and the current index.  Types of publications indexed include books, periodicals and selected local, state, national and international government documents.  Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.
Social Sciences Abstracts
Indexes core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.
Web of Science
A collection of multidisciplinary citation databases. Good for determining who has cited whom. Be sure to declick the options for "Arts and Humanities" and "Sciences."  Click on FindIt@Emory for links to the full-text.
JSTOR
Huge set of full-text backfiles of major journals in the social sciences (and other disciplines).  Note that most journals in JSTOR are subject to a moving wall (i.e., more recent volumes/issues are not available).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL (http://scholar.google.com). Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource BUT it does not always connect to Emory sources. A book or journal article may be in the library. Never purchase an item without checking. Remember you can also borrow items from other libraries for free.

Google Scholar's strengths are that it is multidisciplinary, easy to search and provides a quick way to locate articles which cite other articles.

TIPS for using Google Scholar

New! From GoogleScholar: Copy-and-paste formatted citations from search results.

Does APA, MLA and Chicago styles as of 11/2012.

discoverE

Use discoverE to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections and other materials at the Emory libraries, which include Woodruff, Pitts Theology, Health Sciences Center, McMillan Law, Guy Chemistry, Math & Science Center and, Oxford libraries.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322