Skip to main content

Political Science 385/African American Studies 385: New Black Political Leadership: Congressional Materials

Other CQ Titles

Almanac of American Politics (online at National Journal [http://pid.emory.edu/ck2gp] & in print)

Includes basic bibliographical information, recent electoral results, etc., socio-demographic characteristics of the district, key votes, etc.

CQ’s Politics in America

Annual publication, most recent in Reference (2006), others in Stacks (JK1012.C63).  Generally same information as in the Almanac, also includes levels of party unity & presidential support, basic biography, political history, etc.  Also, available online through CQ Electronic Library.

CQ Congress (http://pid.emory.edu/cj4t6)

  • Advanced Member Analysis for general information, includes key votes, financial contributions (borrowed from Open Secrets, http://www.opensecrets.org)
  • Current Committees (109th Congress)—memberships, charge, etc.—links to biographical sketches of current members
  • Detailed Vote Analysis (e.g., on how many occasions did the same two representatives vote the same?)
  • Basic biographies of congressional members
  • Legislative Histories (can search CQ Congress by name of representative to determine if he/she is mentioned in the history)

 CQ Voting and Elections
CQ Voting and Elections Collection integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America.

Thomas 

Access to bill information, congressional record, confirmation hearings from 100th congress to present.

Lexis-Nexis Congressional

LexisNexis Congressional (http://pid.emory.edu/cddn2)

Other Congressional Resources

Roll Call
Well-established newspaper of Congressional politics. Published on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursdays when Congress is in session and on Mondays during inter-sessions.

National Journal (http://pid.emory.edu/ck2gp)
National Journal Group Inc. is a publisher of magazines, newsletters, books and directories for people who have a professional interest in politics, policy and government. Includes access to (note: all options are available at the top of the main page):  
The Hotline
Markup Reports (from individual Congressional committees)
Almanac of American Politics

Earlybird
Poll Track (update on various polls & surveys undertaken)

  • C-Span

Excellent coverage on congressional as well as executive branch activity.

  • CQ Weekly
    Your complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
  • CQ Congress Collection
    CQ Congress Collection is a dynamic, data-rich research and reference tool allowing a sweeping historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322