Skip to main content

Political Science 385/African American Studies 385: New Black Political Leadership: State Level Political Resources

State Level Government Documents

LexisNexis State Capital

Legislative information, histories, background of representatives at the state level.  Roll call votes, state-level news

National Conference of State Legislatures

An extensive, searchable site containing legislative reports, current legislation, many state surveys, and current election information. Policy Issues looks at various topics of concern to the states, including agriculture, culture, health, criminal justice, economics, budget, and more. State Legislatures contains information on campaign reform, staff directories, legislative salaries, and more. Past news is archived (select More News... ) to July, 1999.

State and City Level Organizations

United States Conference of Mayors

This is the "official nonpartisan organization of the nation's ... cities with populations of 30,000 or more." The site provides news, and describes key programs and provides publications in areas such as sustainable development, working families, and homelessness and hunger. Also includes a best practices database and links to websites of member cities.

 

Book of the States

Comparative data and analysis across states, published on an annual basis.

Stateline.org: Politics and Policy News, State by State
A "non-partisan, non-profit online news publication that reports each weekday on state government." Contains original articles, and links to local state newspaper stories and editorial cartoons. Browsable by state, and issue (including elections, crime, and energy). Also features comparative statistical data on education, the environment, health care, politics, and other topics for all 50 states. Includes archive of Stateline.org stories and "the full text of the governor's state of the state addresses." Searchable.

 

National Association on Counties (NACo)
This site offers news, data, and statistics about counties. From the section called U.S. Counties , retrieve "information on counties, such as county officials, courthouse addresses, county seats, cities in a county." Find economic and demographic data, county ordinances, policies, Model County programs, and more. Browsable by state, and searchable.

 

National Conference of State Legislatures

An extensive, searchable site containing legislative reports, current legislation, many state surveys, and current election information. Policy Issues looks at various topics of concern to the states, including agriculture, culture, health, criminal justice, economics, budget, and more. State Legislatures contains information on campaign reform, staff directories, legislative salaries, and more. Past news is archived (select More News... ) to July, 1999.

 

National League of Cities

 

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322